Religious Holiday Policy

Per college policy, no student is required to take an examination or fulfill any other scheduled course requirements on recognized major religious holidays. Students are expected to declare their intention to observe religious holidays at the beginning of the semester.

Please make it clear to your students what your policy is about the potential conflicts between course requirements and religious holidays. They should be made aware of any make-up options in your courses. Please note that Jewish holidays require the cessation of work for the entire day, not simply during the time when services are held.

The academic calendar lists some religious holidays which fall during the academic year. The College encourages instructors to avoid scheduling examinations on these days:

2019

Eid al-Adha--begins at sunset on Sat., Aug. 10 and concludes at sunset on Sun., Aug. 21.

Rosh Hashanah--begins at sunset on Sun., Sept. 29 and concludes at sunset on Tues., Oct. 1.

Yom Kippur--begins at sunset on Tues., Oct. 8 and concludes at sunset on Wed., Oct. 19.

Diwali--Sun., Oct. 27.


2020

Passover--begins at sunset on Wed., April 8 and concludes at sunset on Thurs., April 16.

Good Friday--Fri., April 10.

Easter--Sun., April 12.

Ramadan--begins at first light on Fri., April 24 and concludes at last light on Sat., May 23.

Eid al-Fitr--begins at sunset on Sun., May 24 and concludes at sunset on Tues., May 26.

Please be aware of the following:

As a multicultural community, our diverse student body comes from a variety of religious backgrounds who wish to observe important religious holidays. While it is not feasible to schedule coursework around all religious holidays for a class as a whole, requests from individual students to reschedule assignments and to be absent from classes that conflict with observances of major religious holidays must be honored.

Other Holidays:

Thanksgiving: Thanksgiving vacation begins at 8:00 a.m. on Wed., November 27. For those who teach on Monday and Tuesday, please refrain from canceling classes during Thanksgiving week.