Academic Calendar

Events held during the 2020–2021 academic year may be held virtually or may be shifted altogether. Please continue to refer to the College’s COVID-19 website and contact the relevant Bowdoin department for the most up-to-date information.

219th Academic Year

2020–2021

*Religious holidays and Bowdoin's policy on observance of these can be found at the bottom of this page. Federally recognized holidays are also found at the bottom of this page.

Fall 2020

Aug. 29, Sat. First-year and transfer student arrival day
Aug. 29–Sept. 1, Sat.–Tues. Orientation
Aug. 29, Sat. & Aug. 31, Mon. College housing ready for occupancy for upperclass students
Sept. 1, Tues. Opening of the College—Convocation, 3:30 P.M.
Sept. 2, Wed. Fall semester classes begin, 8:30 A.M.
Sept. 13–19, Sun.–Sat. Explore Bowdoin I
Sept. 24–26, Thurs.–Sat. Alumni Council, Alumni Fund Directors, and BRAVO National Advisory Board meetings
Oct. 2–4, Fri.–Sun. Homecoming Weekend
Oct. 9, Fri. Fall vacation begins after last class
Oct. 14, Wed. Fall vacation ends, 8:30 A.M.
Oct. 15–17, Thurs.–Sat. Meetings of the Board of Trustees
Oct. 23, Fri. Sarah and James Bowdoin Day
Oct. 23–25, Fri.–Sun. Family Weekend
Nov. 3, Tues. Election Day
Nov. 21, Sat. College housing closes, 5:00 P.M.
Nov. 25, Wed. Thanksgiving vacation begins, 8:30 A.M.
Nov. 30, Mon. Thanksgiving vacation ends, 8:30 A.M.
Dec. 11, Fri. Last day of classes
Dec. 12–15, Sat.–Tues. Reading period
Dec. 16–21, Wed.–Mon. Fall semester examinations
Dec. 24–Jan. 1, Thurs.–Fri. College Holidays, many offices closed

Spring 2021 (dates may shift)

Jan. 23, Sat. College housing available for occupancy, 8:30 A.M.
Jan. 25, Mon. Spring semester classes begin, 8:30 A.M.
Feb. 4–6, Thurs.–Sat. Meetings of the Board of Trustees
March 12, Fri. Spring vacation begins after last class
March 13, Sat. College housing closes for spring vacation, noon
March 25–27, Thurs.– Sat. Alumni Council, Alumni Fund Directors, and BRAVO National Advisory Board meetings
March 27, Sat. College housing available for occupancy, 8:30 A.M.
March 29, Mon. Spring vacation ends, 8:30 A.M.
April 15–17, Thurs.–Sat. Admitted Student Open House
May 7, Fri. Honors Day
May 12, Wed. Last day of classes
May 13–15, Thurs.–Sat. Meetings of the Board of Trustees
May 13–16, Thurs.–Sun. Reading period
May 17–22, Mon.–Sat. Spring semester examinations
May 23, Sun. College housing closes for nongraduating students, noon
May 28, Fri. Baccalaureate
May 29, Sat. The 216th Commencement Exercises
May 29, Sat. College housing closes for graduating students, 6:00 P.M.
June 3–6, Thurs.–Sun. Reunion Weekend

*Regular class schedules in effect on holidays listed unless otherwise noted. Staff, check with supervisor to determine if office is closed.

In recognition of Bowdoin’s commitment to a diverse and inclusive student body and the variety of religions observed and practiced by our students, faculty are encouraged to avoid conflicts between in-class examinations and other significant academic work and major religious holidays. The calendar below was developed in collaboration with the director of religious and spiritual life, and includes major observances of the officially recognized religious groups at Bowdoin. In addition, the multifaith calendar from the Harvard Divinity School is a valuable resource regarding many other religious observances that do not appear in the list below, but that may be of significance to members of our community.

Students are expected to declare their intention to observe religious holidays at the beginning of the semester and to work with an instructor when there is a conflict with a scheduled examination, paper, or project due date and a significant religious holiday observed by the student so that, when warranted, alternative arrangements for completing the work may be made.

Students or faculty who have any questions regarding how best to balance the academic calendar alongside religious observances are encouraged to consult with Eduardo Pazos, director of religious and spiritual life.

Religious Holidays
Not within 2020–2021 academic year Eid-al-Adha
Sept. 18–20, Fri.–Sun. Rosh Hashanah, begins at sundown on Sept. 18 and concludes at sundown on Sept. 20
Sept. 27–28, Sun.–Mon. Yom Kippur, begins at sundown on Sept. 27 and concludes at sundown on Sept. 28
Nov. 14, Sat. Diwali
March 27–April 4, Sat.–Sun. Passover, beings at sundown on March 27 and concludes at sundown on April 4
April 2, Fri. Good Friday
April 4, Sun. Easter
April 12–May 12, Mon.–Wed. Ramadan, begins at first light on April 12 and concludes at last light on May 12
May 12–25, Wed.–Sat. Eid-al-Fitr, begins at sundown on May 12
Federally Recognized Holidays
Sept. 7, Mon. Labor Day (Classes in session, College holiday, some offices closed)
Oct. 12, Mon. Columbus Day* (Classes not in session during Fall Break, but offices are open)
Nov. 11, Wed. Veterans Day (Classes in session, offices open)
Nov. 26, Thurs. Thanksgiving (Nov. 25–27 are College holidays, most offices closed)
Dec. 25, Fri. Christmas (College holiday, most offices closed)
Jan. 1, Fri. New Year's Day Holiday (College holiday, most offices closed)
Jan. 18, Mon. Martin Luther King Jr. Day (College holiday, some offices closed)
Feb. 15, Mon. President's Day (Classes in session, College holiday, some offices closed)
May 31, Mon. Memorial Day (College holiday, many offices closed)
June 18, Fri. Juneteenth observed** (College holiday, most offices closed)
July 5, Mon. Fourth of July holiday observed (College holiday, many offices closed)

*Recognized in Maine as Indigenous Peoples' Day

**Recognized in forty-seven states