Academic Calendar

218th Academic Year

2019-2020

*Religious holidays and Bowdoin's policy on observance of these can be found at the bottom of this page. Federally recognized holidays are also found at the bottom of this page.

Fall 2019

August 27, Tuesday First Year arrival day
August 28-31, Wed.-Sat. Orientation Trips
August 31-September 3, Sat.-Tues. Orientation
September 1, Sunday College housing ready for occupancy for upperclass students, noon
September 3, Tuesday Opening of the College—Convocation, 3:30 p.m.
September 4, Wednesday Fall semester classes begin, 8:30 a.m.
September 19-21, Thurs.-Sat. Alumni Council, Alumni Fund Directors and BRAVO National Advisory Board meetings
September 19-22, Thurs.-Sun. Explore Bowdoin I
September 21, Saturday Common Good Day
October 4-6, Fri.-Sun. Homecoming Weekend
October 11, Friday Fall vacation begins after last class
October 16, Wednesday Fall vacation ends, 8:00 a.m.
October 17-19, Thurs.-Sat. Meetings of the Board of Trustees
October 25, Friday Sarah and James Bowdoin Day
October 25-27, Fri.-Sun. Family Weekend
November 5, Tuesday Election Day
November 7-10, Thurs.-Sun. Explore Bowdoin II
November 27, Wednesday Thanksgiving vacation begins, 8:00 a.m. * (November 27-29: College holidays, many offices closed)
December 2, Monday Thanksgiving vacation ends, 8:00 a.m.
December 11, Wednesday Last day of classes
December 12-15, Thurs.-Sun. Reading period
December 16-21, Mon.-Sat. Fall semester examinations
December 22, Sunday College housing closes for winter break, noon
December 24-31, Tues.-Tues. College Holidays, many offices closed

Spring 2020

January 19, Sunday College housing available for occupancy, 8:00 a.m.
January 21, Tuesday Spring semester classes begin, 8:30 a.m.
February 6-8, Thurs.-Sat. Meetings of the Board of Trustees
March 6, Friday Spring vacation begins after last class
March 7, Saturday College housing closes for spring vacation, noon
March 21, Saturday College housing available for occupancy, 8:00 a.m.
March 23, Monday Spring vacation ends, 8:00 a.m.
April 2-4, Thurs.-Sat. Alumni Council, Alumni Fund Directors and BRAVO National Advisory Board meetings
April 16-18, Thurs.-Sat. Admitted Student Open House
May 6, Wednesday  Last day of classes; Honors Day
May 7-9, Thurs.-Sat. Meetings of the Board of Trustees
May 7-10, Thurs.-Sun. Reading period
May 11-16, Mon.-Sat. Spring semester examinations
May 17, Sunday College housing closes for non-graduating students, noon
May 22, Friday Baccalaureate
May 23, Saturday The 215th Commencement Exercises
May 23, Saturday College housing closes for graduating students, 6:00 p.m.
May 28-31, Thurs.-Sun. Reunion Weekend

*Regular class schedules in effect on holidays listed unless otherwise noted. Staff, check with supervisor to determine if office is closed.

In recognition of Bowdoin’s commitment to a diverse and inclusive student body and the variety of religions observed and practiced by our students, faculty are encouraged to avoid conflicts between in class examinations and other significant academic work and major religious holidays. The calendar below was developed in collaboration with the Director of Religious and Spiritual Life, and includes major observances of the officially recognized religious groups at Bowdoin. In addition, the multifaith calendar from the Harvard Divinity School is a valuable resource regarding many other religious observances that do not appear in the list below but that may be of significance to members of our community.

Students are expected to declare their intention to observe religious holidays at the beginning of the semester, and to work with an instructor when there is a conflict with a scheduled examination, paper, or project due date and a significant religious holiday observed by the student so that, when warranted, alternative arrangements for completing the work may be made.

Students or faculty who have any questions regarding how best to balance the academic calendar alongside religious observances are encouraged to consult with Eduardo Pazos, Director of Religious and Spiritual Life.

Religious Holidays
September 29-October 1, Sun.-Tues. Rosh Hashanah, begins at sundown on Sept. 29 and concludes at sundown on Oct. 1
October 8-9, Tues.-Wed. Yom Kippur, begins at sundown on Oct. 8 and concludes at sundown on Oct. 9
October 27, Sunday Diwali
April 8-16, Wed.-Thurs. Passover, begins at sundown on April 8 and concludes at sundown on April 16
April 10, Friday Good Friday
April 12, Sunday Easter
April 24-May 23, Fri.-Sat. Ramadan, begins at first light on April 24 and concludes at last light on May 23
May 24-26, Sat.-Tues. Eid-al-Fitr, begins at sundown on May 24
Federally Recognized Holidays
September 2, Monday Labor Day (College holiday, some offices closed)
October 14, Monday Columbus Day (Classes not in session - Fall Break, but offices are open)
November 11, Monday Veterans Day (Classes in session, offices open)
November 28, Thursday Thanksgiving (College holiday, most offices closed)
December 25, Wednesday Christmas (College holiday, most offices closed)
January 1, Wednesday New Year's Day Holiday (College holiday, most offices closed)
January 20, Monday Martin Luther King, Jr. Day (College holiday, some offices closed)
February 17, Monday President's Day (Classes in session, College holiday, some offices closed)
May 25, Monday Memorial Day (College holiday, many offices closed)
July 3, Friday Fourth of July holiday observed (College holiday, most offices closed)