Academic Calendar

Events held during the 2020-2021 academic year may be held virtually or may be shifted altogether. Please continue to refer to the College’s COVID-19 website and be in touch with the relevant Bowdoin department for the most up-to-date information.

219th Academic Year

2020-2021

*Religious holidays and Bowdoin's policy on observance of these can be found at the bottom of this page. Federally recognized holidays are also found at the bottom of this page.

Fall 2020

August 29, Saturday First Year and Transfer Student arrival day
August 29-Sept 1, Sat.-Tues. Orientation
August 30, Sunday College housing ready for occupancy for upperclass students, noon
September 1, Tuesday Opening of the College—Convocation, 3:30 p.m.
September 2, Wednesday Fall semester classes begin, 8:30 a.m.
September 13-19, Sun-Sat. Explore Bowdoin I
September 24-26, Thurs.-Sat. Alumni Council, Alumni Fund Directors and BRAVO National Advisory Board meetings
October 2-4, Fri.-Sun. Homecoming Weekend
October 9, Friday Fall vacation begins after last class
October 14, Wednesday Fall vacation ends, 8:30 a.m.
October 15-17, Thurs.-Sat. Meetings of the Board of Trustees
October 23, Friday Sarah and James Bowdoin Day
October 23-25, Fri.-Sun. Family Weekend
November 3, Tuesday Election Day
November 21, Saturday College housing closes, 5 p.m.
November 25, Wednesday Thanksgiving vacation begins, 8:30 a.m.
November 30, Monday Thanksgiving vacation ends, 8:30 a.m.
December 11, Friday Last day of classes
December 12-15, Sat.-Tues. Reading period
December 16-21, Wed.-Mon. Fall semester examinations
Dec. 24- Jan. 1, Thurs.- Fri. College Holidays, many offices closed

Spring 2021 (dates may shift)

January 23, Saturday College housing available for occupancy, 8:30 a.m.
January 25, Monday Spring semester classes begin, 8:30 a.m.
February 4-6, Thurs.-Sat. Meetings of the Board of Trustees
March 12, Friday Spring vacation begins after last class
March 13, Saturday College housing closes for spring vacation, noon
March 25-27, Thurs.- Sat. Alumni Council, Alumni Fund Directors and BRAVO National Advisory Board meetings
March 27, Saturday College housing available for occupancy, 8:30 a.m.
March 29, Monday Spring vacation ends, 8:30 a.m.
April 15-17, Thurs.-Sat. Admitted Student Open House
May 7, Wednesday  Honors Day
May 12, Wednesday Last day of classes
May 13-15, Thurs.-Sat. Meetings of the Board of Trustees
May 13-16, Thurs.-Sun. Reading period
May 17-22, Mon.-Sat. Spring semester examinations
May 23, Sunday College housing closes for non-graduating students, noon
May 28, Friday Baccalaureate
May 29, Saturday The 216th Commencement Exercises
May 29, Saturday College housing closes for graduating students, 6:00 p.m.
June 3-6, Thurs.-Sun. Reunion Weekend

*Regular class schedules in effect on holidays listed unless otherwise noted. Staff, check with supervisor to determine if office is closed.

In recognition of Bowdoin’s commitment to a diverse and inclusive student body and the variety of religions observed and practiced by our students, faculty are encouraged to avoid conflicts between in class examinations and other significant academic work and major religious holidays. The calendar below was developed in collaboration with the Director of Religious and Spiritual Life, and includes major observances of the officially recognized religious groups at Bowdoin. In addition, the multifaith calendar from the Harvard Divinity School is a valuable resource regarding many other religious observances that do not appear in the list below but that may be of significance to members of our community.

Students are expected to declare their intention to observe religious holidays at the beginning of the semester, and to work with an instructor when there is a conflict with a scheduled examination, paper, or project due date and a significant religious holiday observed by the student so that, when warranted, alternative arrangements for completing the work may be made.

Students or faculty who have any questions regarding how best to balance the academic calendar alongside religious observances are encouraged to consult with Eduardo Pazos, Director of Religious and Spiritual Life.

Religious Holidays
not within 20-21 academic year Eid-al-Adha
September 18-20, Fri.-Sun. Rosh Hashanah, begins at sundown on Sept. 18 and concludes at sundown on Sept. 20
September 27-28, Sun.-Mon. Yom Kippur, begins at sundown on Sept. 27 and concludes at sundown on Sept. 28
November 14, Saturday Diwali
March 27-April 4, Sat.- Sun. Passover, beings at sundown on March 27 and concludes at sundown on April 4
April 2, Friday Good Friday
April 4, Sunday Easter
April 12-May 12, Mon.-Wed. Ramadan, begins at first light on April 12 and concludes at last light on May 12
May 12-25, Wed.- Sat. Eid-al-Fitr, begins at sundown on May 12
Federally Recognized Holidays
September 7, Monday Labor Day (Classes in session, College holiday, some offices closed)
October 12, Monday Columbus Day* (Classes not in session - Fall Break, but offices are open)
November 11, Wednesday Veterans Day (Classes in session, offices open)
November 26, Thursday Thanksgiving (Nov. 25-27 are College holidays, most offices closed)
December 25, Friday Christmas (College holiday, most offices closed)
January 1, Friday New Year's Day Holiday (College holiday, most offices closed)
January 18, Monday Martin Luther King, Jr. Day (College holiday, some offices closed)
February 15, Monday President's Day (Classes in session, College holiday, some offices closed)
May 31, Monday Memorial Day (College holiday, many offices closed)
June 18, Friday Juneteenth observed** (College holiday, most offices closed)
July 5, Monday Fourth of July holiday observed (College holiday, many offices closed)

*Recognized in Maine as Indigenous Peoples' Day

**Recognized in 47 states