Choosing a Concentration

The chemistry major has two parts:  the core curriculum and an area of concentration.  The core curriculum is common to all chemistry majors in includes courses in analytical, organic, and inorganic chemistry as well as classes in mathematics and physics. 

The areas of concentration recognize the increasing number of ways that chemists provide an atomic and molecular perspective that is essential to interdisciplinary scientific research and teaching.  All areas of concentration include courses in physical chemistry, but differ in their electives.  In choosing an area of concentration, students are able to tailor the chemistry major to their academic interests and future goals.

Areas of concentration include:

  • Chemical Concentration: 
    • a “standard” chemistry major, with all electives in the Chemistry department; also with the option to be certified by the American Chemical Society (see below).
  • Educational Concentration:
    • with electives in the Chemistry and Education departments.
  • Environmental Concentration:
    • with electives in the Chemistry, Biology, EOS, and Physics departments.
  • Geochemical Concentration
    • with electives in the Chemistry and EOS departments.
  • Neurochemical Concentration:
    • with electives in the Chemistry, Biology, and Psychology departments and Neuroscience program.
  • The American Chemical Society (ACS)-certified major:
    • an option that requires additional coursework to augment the Chemical Concentration and provides rigorous pre-professional training for many career paths including the profession of chemistry, graduate studies in the sciences, medicine, secondary school teaching and many fields in the business world.