The Board of Trustees has fiduciary responsibility for the governance of the College, in particular the health, vibrance, and ability to satisfy our mission. The president is the chief executive officer of the College and is also a trustee. The president and his or her senior staff are responsible for establishing and implementing College policy.

Board Leadership

Bob White, Chair of the Bowdoin Board of Trustees

Robert F. White ’77, P'15
Chair of the Board

Paula Wardynski photo

Paula M. Wardynski '79
Vice Chair of the Board


Clayton S. Rose

Robert F. White ’77, P'15, Chair of the Board
Senior Lecturer, Harvard Business School, Boston, MA

Paula M. Wardynski ’79, Vice Chair of the Board
New York, NY

Clayton S. Rose, President of the College
Brunswick, ME

Board of Trustees

Jennifer Goldsmith Adams '90, P'21, Assistant Professor and Codirector, Primary Care Internal Medicine Residency Program, New York University, New York, NY

Joseph Adu ’07, Director of Technology, Path AI, Needham, MA

Tejus Ajmera '04, Cofounder, FGF Brands, Toronto, Ontario, Canada

William S. Anderson ’80, Founder & CEO, First Beverage Group, Los Angeles, CA

Sydney Asbury ’03, Principal, DNM Solutions, LLC, Boston, MA

Katie R. Benner ’99, Reporter, The New York Times, Washington, DC

Peter J. Bernard ’79, P'11, P'17, Chilmark, MA

Arthur E. Black ’91, Retired, Highland Beach, FL

Ronald C. Brady ’89, P'19, CEO, New Foundations Charter School, Philadelphia, PA

David G. Brown ’79, Private Investor, Jackson, WY

Ellen L.P. Chan '97, Pediatric Cardiologist, Stanford Children's Health–CPMC, San Francisco, CA

Leonard W. Cotton ’71, P'01, Retired, Johns Island, SC

Russell C. Crandall ’94, Professor of Latin American Studies, Davidson College, Davidson, NC

Michele G. Cyr ’76, P'12, Senior Associate Dean for Academic Affairs, Division of Biology and Medicine, Brown University - Alpert Medical School, Providence, RI

Jeff D. Emerson ’70, P'10, President, Northend Group, LLC, Portland, ME

John F. Fish '82, P'10, Chairman and CEO, Suffolk, Roxbury, MA

Robert T. Friedman P’15, P’20, President, YF Group, Santa Monica, CA

Bertrand Garcia-Moreno '81, P'17, Professor and Chair of Biophysics, Johns Hopkins University, Baltimore, MD

Stephen F. Gormley ’72, P'06, P'09, P'11, Retired, North Palm Beach, FL

Shelley A. Hearne '83, President, CityHealth, Washington, DC

Bradford A. Hunter ’78, Retired, Cumberland Foreside, ME

Tasha vanderLinde Irving ’82, P'17, P'21, Founder and Former Principal, Touchstone School, Victoria BC, Canada

Ann Hambelton Kenyon ’79, Retired, Chappaqua, NY

George A. Khaldun ’73, President and CEO, Khaldun Associates, LLC, New York, NY

Holly E. Maloney ’07, Managing Director, General Catalyst, San Francisco, CA

Joseph V. McDevitt, Jr. ’75, Retired, Pacific Palisades, CA

John F. McQuillan, Jr. ’87, CEO, Triumvirate Environmental, Somerville, MA

David A. Morales ’97, General Manager, UniCare at Anthem, Inc., Andover, MA

Scott B. Perper ’78, Managing Partner, Pamlico Capital, Charlotte, NC

Jane L. Pinchin P'01, Thomas A. Bartlett Chair and Professor of English, Emerita, Colgate University, Hamilton, NY

Mary Hogan Preusse ’90, P'23, Founder and Principal, Sturgis Partners, LLC, New York, NY

Alison E. Rundlett '03, Partner, Ropes & Gray, Boston, MA

Joan Benoit Samuelson ’79, P'12, Athletic/Health Consultant, Freeport, ME

Philip W. Schiller P'17, Senior Vice President of Worldwide Marketing, Apple, Inc., Cupertino, CA

Andrew E. Serwer ’81, P'16, P'20, Editor-in-Chief, Yahoo Finance, New York, NY

Diana L. Spagnuolo '96, Partner, Ballard Spahr, LLP, Philadelphia, PA

James E. Staley ’79, P'11, Group Chief Executive, Barclays, London, UK

R. Stewart Strawbridge ’98, Managing Member, Selkirk Partners, Freeport, ME

John K. L. Thorndike ’02, Partner, GMO, LLC, Boston, MA

Karen N. Walker ’84, P'15, Senior Partner, Kirkland & Ellis, Washington, DC

David P. Wheeler ’74, P'07, P'15, Co-Chairman, European Investment Banking Committee, Credit Suisse, London, UK

Mitchell S. Zuklie '91, P'21, P'23, Global Chairman and CEO, Orrick, Herrington & Sutcliffe, San Francisco, CA