Accessibility Task Force

Mission Statement

The Accessibility Task Force, a collaboration of students, faculty, and staff, seeks to fulfill Bowdoin’s commitment to accessibility for community members with all types of disabilities, impairments, health conditions, or other access needs.

The Task Force seeks to identity and eliminate barriers to inclusion for people with disabilities, while ensuring the College fulfills its legal obligations (outlined by the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990, and Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973).

Accessibility Task Force

Academic Year 2020-21


  • Aretha Aoki (June 2023)
  • Michael Kolster (June 2023)
  • Jennifer Kosak (June 2022)


  • Abby Allen ’23
  • Thais Carrillo ’23
  • Nothando Khumalo ’23


  • Lisa Bouffard, Test Center Coordinator
  • Kathryn Byrnes, Director of the Baldwin Center for Learning and Teaching
  • Martina Duncan, Registrar
  • Megan Hart, Legal Officer and Assistant Secretary of the College
  • Marjorie Hassen, Director of the Bowdoin College Library
  • Juli Haugen, Digital Content and Accessibility Specialist
  • Stephen Houser, Senior Director of Academic Technology & Consulting
  • Martie Janeway, Academic Department Coordinator for Art History and Digital and Computational Studies
  • Lesley Levy, Director of Student Accessibility
  • Matthew Orlando, Senior Vice President for Finance and Administration and Treasurer, chair
  • Michael Reed, Senior Vice President for Inclusion and Diversity
  • Lisa Rendall, Director of Residential and Housing Operations
  • David Shanks, Senior Maintenance Project Manager – Design and Construction
  • Jennifer Snow, Educational Research Consultant
  • Tony Sprague, Executive Director of Events and Summer Programs
  • Tama Spoerri, Vice President for Human Resources
  • Kristin Steinman, Workers’ Compensation and Wellness Administrator
  • Jen Swanda, Associate Director and Website Manager
  • Alice Wiercinski, Associate Director, Athletics