Campus News

Nine Seniors Nominated to Phi Beta Kappa

Story posted March 02, 2011

The members of Phi Beta Kappa, Alpha of Maine, have nominated nine seniors for membership in PBK.

The nominations are in recognition of the students' outstanding academic records at Bowdoin and any other college or university where they may have studied through the first semester of their senior years. The nominees are:

Phi Beta Kappa key128.jpg

William Johnstone Cogswell
Kyle Edward Dempsey
Evan Charles Fricke
Maryellen Christine Hearn
Laura Anne Newcomb
Sara Joan Powers
Anne Elizabeth Rothacker
Conor William Walsh
Alida Jayne Wilkinson

These students join the following twelve members of the class of 2011 who were nominated for membership in Phi Beta Kappa in September 2010 on the basis of their academic records through their junior years:

Michael Christopher Barish
Caitlin Chien Clerkin
Randy Michael Kring
Molly Anne Kwiatkowski
David Ariel Plotkin
Katharine Davis Ransohoff
Kathryn Ann Shaw
Kevin John Stansky
Sharon Swain Ulery
Yasmine Nicole White
Teerawat Wiwatpanit
Brian George Wu

These students will be officially elected and initiated into Phi Beta Kappa at a ceremony to be held Friday, May 27, the day before Commencement.

The Phi Beta Kappa Society, the national honorary fraternity for the recognition and promotion of scholarship, was founded at the College of William and Mary in 1776. The Bowdoin chapter (Alpha of Maine), the sixth in order of establishment, was founded in 1825.

Election is based primarily on scholarly achievement, and consideration is given to the student's entire college record. The total number of students selected each year does not normally exceed ten percent of the number graduating in May.

Students elected to Phi Beta Kappa are expected to be persons of integrity and good moral character, and must have completed at least 24 semester courses of college work (including 16 courses at Bowdoin).

« Back | Campus News | Academic Spotlight | | Subscribe to Bowdoin News by Email