Campus News

Lexington High School Receives 2006 Abraxas Award

Story posted July 05, 2006

Bowdoin College has given the 2006 Abraxas Award to Lexington High School in Lexington, Mass.

The Abraxas Award is presented annually to the secondary school sending two or more graduates to Bowdoin, whose representatives maintain the highest standing during their first year at the College.

Four Lexington High School graduates and members of Bowdoin's Class of 2009 maintained this highest standing during the 2005-06 academic year. They are Archibald Abrams, Julia Bond, Aurora Kurland, and Megan McCarty.

The Abraxas Award was established in 1915 by the Abraxas Society, a former Bowdoin junior class scholarly society that was active from 1893 to about 1924.

« Back | Campus News | Academic Spotlight | | Subscribe to Bowdoin News by Email