Campus News

Nine Members of Class of 2005 Nominated to Phi Beta Kappa

Story posted February 25, 2005

The members of Phi Beta Kappa, Alpha of Maine, have nominated nine members of the Bowdoin College Class of 2005 for membership in PBK.

These students join nine other members of the Class of 2005 who were nominated for membership last September.

The students will be officially elected and initiated into Phi Beta Kappa at a ceremony to be held Friday, May 27, the day before Commencement.

These latest nominations are in recognition of the outstanding academic achievements through the first semester of the students' senior years. The nominees are:

Arwyn Carroll
Catherine Amalia Del Vecchio
Adam Jermain Goodfellow
Lauren Mary Gray
Gregory Andrew Kelsey
Muhammad Daud Munir
Camden Heather Ramsay
Amy Ruth Titcomb
Sean Ryan Turley

The following students were nominated in September on the basis of their academic records through their junior years:

Christopher Michael Aderman
Eric Graham Bakkensen
Claire Melissa Falck
Monica Guzman
Kathryn Reed Leach
Erika Lawren Nickerson
Matthew Patrick Spooner
Ella Augusta Thodal
Eric Byrne Toan

The Phi Beta Kappa Society, the national honorary fraternity for the recognition and promotion of scholarship, was founded at the College of William and Mary in 1776. The Bowdoin chapter (Alpha of Maine), the sixth in order of establishment, was founded in 1825.

Election is based primarily on scholarly achievement, and consideration is given to the student's entire college record. The total number of students selected each year does not normally exceed ten percent of the number graduating in May.

Students elected to Phi Beta Kappa are expected to be persons of integrity and good moral character, and must have completed at least 24 semester courses of college work (including 16 courses at Bowdoin).

« Back | Campus News | Academic Spotlight | | Subscribe to Bowdoin News by Email