Campus News

Trustees Approve Construction Projects, Elect New Members at May Meetings

Story posted May 18, 2004

The Bowdoin College Board of Trustees approved upcoming construction projects and elected four new members during its May 13-15 meetings on campus.

The Trustees approved the construction of two residence halls at the corner of Coffin and South streets, a project budgeted at $14 million. The two new halls, projected to be completed by the fall of 2005, will initially be used to house students from older dorms that will undergo renovations. Ultimately the new residence halls will accommodate students who might otherwise live off campus, as well as eliminate three-person rooms currently in the older dorms.

Unanimous approval was given by the trustees for an $18 million renovation of Walker Art Building. Click here to read more.

Four new members were elected to serve five-year terms on the board of trustees effective July 1, 2004. The new trustees are Tamara A. Nikuradse '84 of Wellesley, Mass.; John S. Osterweis '64 of San Francisco, Calif.; Scott B. Perper '78 of Charlotte, N.C.; and Alan R. Titus '62 of Chadds Ford, Penn.

Tamara A. Nikuradse is an author and homemaker, and formerly worked in product development for the Gillette Company. She is the author, co-author or editor of eight books, including most recently My Mother Had a Dream: African-American Women Share Their Mothers' Words of Wisdom. Nikuradse graduated from Bowdoin magna cum laude with high honors, majoring in Afro-American studies and sociology. While at Bowdoin she was a member of the Afro-Am Society and served as a senior admissions interviewer. She went on to earn her MBA at Harvard University in 1990. Her service to the college has included as BASIC representative, Alumni Council member, and Posse tutor. She spoke at Common Hour in 2000. She is married to Scott H. Matthews '84.

John S. Osterweis is president of the investment management firm Osterweis Capital Management, Inc., of San Francisco. A philosophy major at Bowdoin, Osterweis graduated cum laude and was a James Bowdoin Scholar. While a student he was a member of Alpha Delta Phi fraternity, and participated in cross country, track, Masque and Gown, and Quill. He went on to earn his MBA from Stanford University in 1969. His service to Bowdoin has included the Career Advisory Network and the Leadership Gifts Committee. Other board affiliations have included serving as director of the Stanford Alumni Association Executive Board and of Mt. Zion Hospital and Medical Center, trustee of the San Francisco Ballet, president of the San Francisco Ballet Endowment Foundation, and member of the Commission on Investment Responsibility at Stanford.

Scott B. Perper is managing partner at Wachovia Capital Partners in Charlotte, N.C. A dean's list government major at Bowdoin, he also served as vice president of Chi Psi fraternity and chair of the candidate liaison committee of the 1976 Bowdoin Model Democratic National Convention. He was also a member of the wrestling and squash teams. He went on to earn his MBA from Harvard University in 1982. His service to Bowdoin has included serving as his 25th Reunion Leaderships Gifts Chair, Special Gifts Chair, Associate Class Agent, and BASIC Representative. Other board affiliations have included director of Horizon Telecom International, NewSouth Communications, Optiglobe, Affinity Internet, and North Carolina Outward Bound School, among many others. He is married to Anne Bullock Perper '80.

Alan R. Titus is retired vice president of DuPont Textiles & Interiors and E.I. DuPont de Nemours & Co. A history major at Bowdoin, he was a member of Theta Delta Chi fraternity and Masque and Gown. He is also a graduate of the Stern School of Business at New York University. His service to Bowdoin has included chairing the Alumni Fund, Leadership Gifts Committee, and Special Gifts Committee, serving on the Campaign Planning Committee, and serving as Alumni Council and BASIC representative. His daughter Alison Titus Harden is a member of the Class of 1997.

In other action, the board of trustees approved a 5% increase in the student comprehensive fee. For the academic year commencing September 2004 the comprehensive fee will be $39,680 (up from $37,790 in 2003-04). The fee breaks down to $30,944 for tuition, $8,054 for room and board, $357 for the health insurance fee, and $325 for the student activities fee.

Trustees re-elected to serve another five-year term on the board were Deborah Jensen Barker '80 of Short Hills, N.J.; Steven M. Schwartz '70 of Gloucester, Mass., president, Schwartz Communications, Inc., Waltham, Mass.; and Robert F. White '77 of Weston, Mass., managing director, Bain Capital, Boston.

Anne W. Springer '81 of Brunswick, associate dean of admissions at Bowdoin, was re-elected for an additional five-year term as Secretary of the Board of Trustees.

The trustees elected four faculty members to emeritus status effective July 1. Paul L. Nyhus was elected Frank Andrews Munsey Professor of History, Emeritus; Clifton C. Olds was elected Edith Cleaves Barry Professor of History and Criticism of Art, Emeritus; Elliott S. Schwartz was elected Robert K. Beckwith Professor of Music, Emeritus; and C. Thomas Settlemire was elected Professor of Biology and Chemistry, Emeritus. James L. Hodge was elected George Taylor Files Professor of Modern Languages and Professor of German, Emeritus, effective January 1, 2005.

Three board members whose terms are ending were elected to emeritus status in recognition of devoted service to Bowdoin. Philip R. Cowen P'92, P96 of Tesuque, N.M., and Donald Richardson Kurtz '52 of Stamford, Conn., were elected Trustee, Emeritus; Wanda Fleming Gasperetti '82 of Washington, D.C., child and youth development consultant, was elected Trustee, Emerita.

« Back | Campus News | Academic Spotlight | | Subscribe to Bowdoin News by Email