Campus News

Hargraves Preservation of Freedom Prize to be Awarded to U.S. Ambassador to Poland Christopher R. Hill '74

Story posted April 14, 2003

Bowdoin will present the Gordon S. Hargraves '19 Preservation of Freedom Prize to Christopher R. Hill '74, the U.S. Ambassador to Poland. The ceremony will held at 7 p.m. Monday, April 28, in Pickard Theater, Memorial Hall.

Following the presentation Ambassador Hill will give a lecture titled "Serving Our Country in War and in Peace."

The event is open to the public. No tickets are required.

Ambassador Hill is a Career Member of the Senior Foreign Service, Class of Minister-Counselor. He served as the Senior Director for Southeast European Affairs at the National Security Council (NSC). Prior to his assignment at the NSC, he was the U.S. Ambassador to Macedonia and a special envoy for the Kosovo crisis.

Ambassador Hill has also served in Poland and as the Senior Country Officer for Polish Affairs in the Department of State. His other overseas assignments have included Yugoslavia, Albania and Korea.

He is the recipient of several State Department awards including the Robert S. Frasure Award for Peace Negotiations and the Department's Distinguished Service Award for his work on the Bosnian peace negotiations.

Prior to joining the State Department, Ambassador Hill served in the Peace Corps as a volunteer in Cameroon. A native of Little Compton, R.I., he graduated from Bowdoin College in 1974 with a degree in economics. He earned a master's degree from the Naval War College in 1994.

The Preservation of Freedom Fund was established by Gordon S. Hargraves '19 to stimulate understanding and appreciation of the rights and freedoms of the individual, guaranteed under the Constitution of the United States. The prize is awarded to a student, member of the faculty, or group of Bowdoin alumni making an outstanding contribution to the understanding and advancement of human freedoms and the duty of the individual to protect and strengthen these freedoms at all times.

The first award was made in 1988 to William B. Whiteside, Frank Munsey Professor of History Emeritus. The most recent recipient of the award, in 1997, was Howard H. Dana Jr. '62, an associate justice of the Maine Supreme Court and founding member of the Maine Volunteer Lawyers Project.

« Back | Campus News | Academic Spotlight | | Subscribe to Bowdoin News by Email