Campus News

Bowdoin Employees Honored for Length of Service

Story posted March 08, 2002

Bowdoin College honored employees who have reached length-of-service milestones at a celebratory luncheon held March 8 in the campus's Thorne Hall.

President Barry Mills presided over the annual Service Awards, which this year honored eight faculty and staff members reaching the 25-year milestone, and nine faculty and staff reaching the 20-year mark.

President Mills praised the quality of service at the College as being at the highest level. "The dedication and commitment of everyone in this room and everyone who works at Bowdoin are remarkable," he said.

The following employees were honored for 25 years of service, and received either a handmade cherry chair or a Bowdoin College campus lithograph:

Michael W. Cobb, cook, dining service
Raymond E. Dall, lead mechanic, facilities management
Stephen T. Fisk, professor of mathematics
Judith C. Foster, chemistry laboratory instructor and director of laboratories
Lester Prue, chef manager, dining service
Brenda M. Rice, health services administrator and radiology technician
Lynn M. Ruddy, associate director of athletics
Paul E. Schaffner, associate professor of psychology

The following employees were honored for 20 years of service, and received a brass clock with a Bowdoin sun face:

Frederick E. Disch, steward, dining service
Gerald A. Driscoll, production assistant, dining service
Robert K. Greenlee, associate professor of music
Scott L. Gustafson, electrician, facilities management
Sarah F. McMahon, associate professor of history
Clifton C. Olds, the Edith Cleaves Barry Professor of the History and Criticism of Art
Jose L. Ribas, technician/preparator , Museum of Art
Christine N. Simonson, records/project manager, alumni/development information services
Kidder Smith, professor of history

The following employees were honored for 15 years of service, and received a Larson Collection crystal bear and a pin depicting Massachusetts Hall:

Robert A. Bussell, telecommunications manager
Steven M. Cicogna, housekeeper, facilities management
Anne E. Cornely, human resources data coordinator
Beverly S. DeCoster, chemistry laboratory instructor
Clive H. Douglas, preventative maintenance technician, facilities management
Carol A. Durak, technical services conservation technician, library
Gertrude C. Hall, cash operations food service associate, dining service
Mary McAteer Kennedy, director of dining service
Charles N. McCourt, cook, dining service
Richard B. McKeen, environmental controls technician, facilities management
Roger L. Nadeau, housekeeper, facilities management
Armand L. Pomerleau, assistant chef, dining service
Madeline A. Turcotte, switchboard operator
Joseph M. Whispell, carpenter, facilities management

The following employees were honored for 10 years of service, and received a Dansk silver-plated bear and a Bowdoin sun pin:

Charles E. Banks, associate director for network and operations, CIS
Andrew J. Bernard, boiler operator, facilities management
Gerald L. Boothby, associate v.p. and director of budgets and associate treasurer
Grace M.J. Brescia, senior associate director of annual giving
Ronald W. Burnette, boiler operator, facilities management
Kent John Chabotar, v.p. for finance and administration and treasurer
Lynn H. Ensign, secretary, donor relations
Kenneth D. Gordon, steward, dining service
Virginia W. Hopcroft, government documents librarian, library
Lueree A. Horton, system administrator and trainer, telecommunications
Cynthia E. Johnson, academic department coordinator, music
Mary E. Levesque, administrative assistant, dean of student affairs office
Ann C. Ostwald, director of academic budget and operations, dean for academic affairs office
Cheryl L. Pelletier, administrative and finance assistant, treasurerís office
Mark H. Schmitz, director of bookstore and campus services
Randolph H. Shaw, director of development and alumni operations
Lucy Smith, government documents and receiving assistant, library
Joyce H. Whittemore, senior housekeeping coordinator, facilities management
Daniel J. Williams, baker/cook, dining service
D. Michael Woodruff, director of the outing club

The following employees were honored for five years of service, and received a polar bear pin:

Angela D. Anderson, security officer, security
Kimberley A. Bonsey, manager of employment and HR services, human resources
Amy J. Boyd, security officer, security
Lynn A. Brettler, academic department coordinator, education and religion
Michael W. Brown, assistant director, security
Michael R. Demers, security officer, security
Judith Ebert, program assistant, upward bound
Jennifer S. Edwards, curator of visual resources, art
Diane L. Hall, financial analyst, controllerís office
Laura Jackson, senior database analyst/programmer, CIS
Elizabeth M. Jacobson-Carroll, assistant director of donor relations
Richard D. Johnson, housekeeper, facilities management
Bonita A. Labonte, academic department coordinator, sociology and anthropology
Dennis R. Larrabee, housekeeper, facilities management
Jacqueline E. La Vie, director of the quantitative skills program
Adam J. Lord, programming designer, CIS
Aarone R. McKeen, assistant athletic trainer, athletics
Scott A. Meiklejohn, associate v.p. for development and alumni relations
David S. Merriman, groundskeeper, facilities management
Richard D. Minott, electrical shop leader, facilities management
Glenn S. Morin, assistant to the bursar, controllerís office
Stanley J. Paul, audiovisual specialist, library
Catherine C. Payson, coordinator for a sustainable Bowdoin, facilities management
Rebecca M. Seigars, student aid specialist, student aid
Julie M. Shields, secretary/receptionist to the v.p. for planning and development
Marla L. Smith, gift and data processor, alumni/development information services
Gail L. Stankiewicz, secretary, admissions office

« Back | Campus News | Academic Spotlight | | Subscribe to Bowdoin News by Email