Campus News

Six Elected to Bowdoin College Board of Trustees

Story posted May 14, 2001

The Bowdoin College Board of Trustees elected six new members during its May 12 meeting.

The new trustees are Michael S. Cary '71, of Lawrenceville, N.J.; Michael M. Crow of New York City; Stephen F. Gormley '72 of Chestnut Hill, Mass.; Alvin D. Hall '74 of New York City; Lisa A. McElaney '77 of Brookline, Mass.; and Sheldon M. Stone '74 , of Los Angeles. Each will serve a five-year term on the Board of Trustees, which is Bowdoin's governing body.

Cary is headmaster and trustee at Lawrenceville School, Lawrenceville, N.J. He holds a Master of Arts degree in teaching from Brown University, and an M.A. in religious studies from Yale University. He has served as president of Bowdoin's Alumni Council, and was given the Bowdoin Distinguished Educator Award in 1994. He is on the standing committee on admissions for the National Association of Independent Schools and is a trustee at Worcester Academy.

Crow is executive vice provost and professor of science policy at Columbia University. A graduate of Iowa State University, he earned his Ph.D. in public administration from Syracuse University. He is the author of four books, including Limited by Design: R&D Laboratories in the United States National Innovation System (1998). He is a past recipient of research funding from the Mellon and National Science foundations, as well as the U.S. departments of Energy and Commerce.

Gormley is co-founder and managing partner of Great Hill Partners, a Boston-based private equity investment firm. A government major at Bowdoin, he earned his M.B.A. at Columbia University. He has served on Bowdoin's Special Gifts Committee, been chairman of the board of Duro Communications and General Systems Solutions, and been a director at Adams Business Media, Medical World Communications, and Haights Cross Communications, among others.

Hall is president of Alvin D. Hall Associates, a New York City company which designs and conducts investment-training seminars. He is also an author of several books on financial planning, including Getting Started in Stocks. He earned his M.A. at the University of North Carolina. At Bowdoin he was the recipient of the Goodwin Commencement Prize and was a member of the Afro-American Society. He also serves Bowdoin on the Career Advisory Network and was a panelist at the 2000 Russwurm Anniversary Celebration.

McElaney is a teacher and award-winning filmmaker of videos on the health of women, children and the family, and president and executive producer at Vida Health Communications in Cambridge, Mass. She earned her M.F.A. degree at Columbia University in 1982. A history major at Bowdoin, she won the Bowdoin Student Film Society Best Film Award in 1977, and was the 1996 recipient of Bowdoin's Common Good Award. She is a member of the Massachusetts Office for Children.

Stone is a principal at Oaktree Capital Management in Los Angeles. A government major at Bowdoin, he went on to earn his M.B.A. from Columbia University in 1978. He has served Bowdoin as a BASIC representative (interviewing prospective students), and as a member of his class's 25th reunion Special Gifts Committee. Other affiliations include membership on the National Advisory Board, Johns Hopkins University Center for Talented Youth, and as director at Mayflower Group, Inc.

The following trustees were elected for an additional five-year term: Tracy Jean Burlock '81 of Paris, France; Geoffrey Canada '74 of Valley Stream, N.Y.; Marc B. Garnick '68 of Brookline, Mass.; James W. MacAllen '66 of Hingham, Mass.; Nancy Bellhouse May '78 of Little Rock, Ark.; Edgar M. Reed '69 of West Hartford, Conn.; Lee D. Rowe '70 of Gladwyne, Pa.; Joan Benoit Samuelson '79 of Freeport; and John A. Woodcock Jr. '72 of Hampden.

D. Ellen Shuman '76 of New York City was re-elected vice chair of the Board of Trustees for a two-year term. Anne W. Springer '81 of Brunswick was elected secretary of the Board of Trustees. She previously served as secretary to the Overseers and assistant secretary of the Board. David R. Treadwell Jr. '64, an admissions and development materials writer from Boxborough, Mass., was elected assistant secretary of the Board of Trustees.

Six Board retirees were elected to emerita/emeritus status in recognition of devoted service to Bowdoin. Elected Trustee Emeritus/Emerita were Walter E. Bartlett '53; Thomas Clark Casey '51; William Harris Hazen '52; Carolyn Walch Slayman H'85; and Leslie Walker '85. Robert H. Millar '62 was elected Secretary of the Trustees Emeritus.

« Back | Campus News | Academic Spotlight | | Subscribe to Bowdoin News by Email