Campus News

21 Maine Teachers Honored by Bowdoin

Story posted April 27, 2000

Bowdoin recently honored 21 Maine secondary school teachers with Distinguished Teaching Awards for the lasting affect they have had on the lives of their students.

The honorees attended a reception and an awards dinner last week. They also had the opportunity to tour the campus and attend a special lecture, given on "Teaching as an Act of Hope."
The award was created last year to pay tribute to the important role of high school teachers in instilling students with a passion for learning. The recipients of the award include men and women who teach subjects as diverse as English, chemistry and music. They come from twenty high schools throughout the state. One of the applicants is a second-time honoree who was written about by two students this year, and one school, John Bapst Memorial High School has two honorees.
The honorees were chosen because they were all former teachers of students who have been named Sarah and James Bowdoin Scholars. The students wrote in their College application essays about the positive influence of these teachers. Bowdoin is grateful to these teachers for inspiring students to learn and preparing them to excel in college and beyond.

Bowdoin College Distinguished Teaching Award Recipients, 2000

Mrs. Deanna Jones (English), Bangor High School
Hon. Donald P. Berry, Sr., (Chemistry), State rep., formerly of Belfast High School
Mr. James O'Donnell (English), Brunswick High School
Ms. Faith Vatour (History), Camden-Rockport High School
Mr. Richard Powell (French), Deer Isle-Stonington High School, Deer Isle
Mrs. Joyce D'Augustine (Biology), Edward Little High School, Auburn
Mrs. Patricia Mullis (Latin), Foxcroft Academy, Dover-Foxcroft
Mr. Christopher Peterson (Music), Ph.D. cand., FL State U; formerly of Gorham High School
Mr.Michael Schaab (Chemistry), John Bapst Memorial High School, Bangor
Mr. John S. Emerson (English), John Bapst Memorial High School, Bangor
Mr. Richard Townsend (English), Lewiston High School
Mrs. Marion Albert (English), Madawaska High School
Mrs. Mary Wilbur (Math), Mattawanacook High School, Lincoln
Mrs. Ann Yates (Art ), Ret. from Medomak Valley High School; now lives in Bristol
Mr. Frank Brown (English ), Messalonskee High School, Oakland
Mr.Don Schultz (History), Mt. View High School, Thorndike
Mrs. Maryli Tiemann (English), Morse High School, Bath
Mrs. Diane Myers (English), Noble High School, Berwick
Ms. Laura Getchell (Biology), Robert W. Traip Academy, Kittery
Mrs.Marilee Osier (Latin), Sacopee Valley High School, Hiram
Mr. Vernon Campbell (History), Sumner High School, E. Sullivan

« Back | Campus News | Academic Spotlight | | Subscribe to Bowdoin News by Email