Campus News

Trustees Approve Budget, Elect New Member at May Meetings

Story posted May 18, 2008

The Bowdoin College Board of Trustees approved the fiscal year 2008-2009 budget, construction of the new Fitness, Health and Wellness Center and elected a new member during its May 9 and 10, 2008, meetings on campus.

The trustees approved an operating budget for the College for the period July 1, 2008, to June 30, 2009, of $140,295,000, which includes a financial aid budget of $22,189,000. The financial aid budget is 21 percent increase over last year, reflecting the College's announcement that it will eliminate loans for all new and current students receiving financial aid, replacing those loans with grants beginning with the 2008-2009 academic year.

The trustees also approved a five percent increase in the student comprehensive fee. For the academic year commencing September 2008, the comprehensive fee will be $48,570 (up from $46,260 in 2007-2008). The fee breaks down to $37,790 for tuition, $10,380 for room and board and $400 for the student activities fee. An additional $50 per semester technology charge will be assessed on all students living in residence.

The board authorized the application for the public conveyance of approximately 175 acres of developable land at the site of the Brunswick Naval Air Station.

Trustees authorized the renovation and construction of the new Fitness, Health and Wellness Center, with a project budget not to exceed $14,750,000.

Trustees appointed Philip Camill III as Associate Professor of Environmental Studies and Biology, with tenure, effective July 1, 2008.

A new member, Abigail Psyhogeos '87 of Weston, Mass., was elected to serve a five-year term on the Board of Trustees, effective July 1, 2008. Psyhogeos is a senior portfolio manager and principal of Bainco International Investors, an investment management firm in Wellesley, Mass. An economics major, Psyhogeos graduated from the College on the Dean's List and was a member of the Theta Delta Chi fraternity, serving as president and social chairman. Her prior service to the College includes sitting on the Alumni Council and Massachusetts Regional Campaign Committee and as Bowdoin Career Advisory Network advisor and associate class agent.

Trustees re-elected to serve another five-year term on the board, effective July 1, 2008, were Dennis J. Hutchinson '69, Jane L. Pinchin P'01, Linda H. Roth '76, Geoffrey C. Rusack '78, D. Ellen Shuman '76, John J. Studzinski '78 and David P. Wheeler '74.

Two trustees who are coming off the board were elected to emeritus status in recognition of devoted service to the College. Laurie Anne Hawkes, of the Class of 1977, elected an Overseer in 1986, elected a Trustee in 1995, was elected Trustee Emerita. Richard H. Stowe P'99, elected a Trustee in 1998, was elected Trustee Emeritus.

Four retiring faculty members were elected to emeritus status and recognized for their devoted service to Bowdoin. C. Michael Jones was elected Associate Professor of Economics Emeritus; David S. Page was elected Charles Weston Pickard Professor of Chemistry and Biochemistry Emeritus, Kidder Smith Jr. was elected Professor of Asian Studies and History Emeritus, and William L. Steinhart was elected Linnean Professor of Biology Emeritus.

Trustees also recognized Peter B. Webster '62, who has served as College Counsel for 39 years, and elected him College Counsel Emeritus.

Based upon the recommendation of the Ad Hoc Nominating Committee, Peter M. Small '64 was re-elected Chair of the Board of Trustees for a two-year term, effective July 1, 2008.

« Back | Campus News | Academic Spotlight | | Subscribe to Bowdoin News by Email