Campus News

2006 Honors Day Ceremony Recognizes Bowdoin's Best

Story posted May 11, 2006

Bowdoin College held its tenth annual Honors Day ceremony May 10, 2006, to recognize over 250 students for their achievements and contributions to the College both in and out of the classroom.

Many of the awards were, in the past, presented individually in private, departmental settings. The Honors Day ceremony, as President Barry Mills explained, has become an occasion to "recognize students of high achievement in a public gathering, and take pride together in the awards."

Twenty seniors were elected to Phi Beta Kappa, a national honorary fraternity open to top scholars of the graduating class (students are Class of 2006 unless noted otherwise):

Travis Robert Arnold
Sarah Ann Clark
Jena Bresnihan Davis
David Mark Diamond
Aimee Catherine Douglas '05
Margaret Elizabeth Fitzgerald
Laurel Pfaffinger Jones
Meaghan Ann Kennedy
Samuel Robert Kolins
Jason Jonathan Lewis
Katherine Porter Loomis
Kristen Rose Maynard
Luke Ogden Monahan
Lucy Elizabeth Orloski
Alexander Douglas Paul
Courtney Elyse Reichert
Allison Michelle Ryder
Rebecca Lee Selden
Alla Lescure Smith
Lauren Stuart Withey

Nine students earned Fulbright Teaching Awards. Fulbrights provide funding for study or teaching abroad for one year to promote cross-cultural interaction and increase mutual understanding. Benjamin Aaron Kreider '05, Joel Kirkpatrick Presti, Whitney Walcutt Rauschenbach, and Ashleigh Nicole Watson will teach in Germany; Julia Nicole Bach and Jonah Hamblen Popp will teach in Korea; Benjamin Cuilean Cope-Kasten will teach in Taiwan; Philip Carroll Friedrich will teach in Sri Lanka; and Nicole Sayuri Wilson will teach in Slovakia. Colin Louis Doyle was selected as alternate, and would teach in Peru.

Hillary Pietricola '07 won a Beinecke Scholarship, which provides funds for graduate education in the arts, humanities or social sciences.

Andrew David Fulton and Rebecca Lee Selden received Thomas J. Watson Fellowships, which fund a year of independent study and travel abroad for a year after graduation.

Craig McEwen, dean for academic affairs, announced the winners of the Bowdoin College Research Awards. Over 80 students representing all class years were honored.

President Mills presented Commencement Awards and awards of general scholarship.

Alexandra Honor Yanikoski received the Goodwin Commencement Prize, and David Duhalde-Wine was awarded the Class of 1868 Prize. Both students will give Commencement addresses. Ely Joseph Delman received the DeAlva Stanwood Alexander first prize and will speak at Baccalaureate; Claudia Maria Marroquin received the DeAlva Stanwood Alexander second prize, and is the Commencement speaker alternate.

Lauren Stuart Withey received the Brooks-Nixon Prize, awarded each year to the best Bowdoin candidate for selection as a Rhodes Scholar.

Vanessa D. Wishart '07 was presented with the Dorothy Haythorn Collins Award, which honors a student "who has achieved academic and general excellence in their chosen majors" at the end of the junior year.

Colin Louis Doyle received the Andrew Allison Haldane Cup. This cup is given to a member of the senior class who demonstrates outstanding qualities of leadership and character.

Meaghan Ann Kennedy was awarded the Lucien Howe Prize, given by the faculty to a member of the senior class who, as and undergraduate, showed the "highest qualities of conduct and character."

David Mark Diamond was presented with the President's Award. This award, inaugurated in 1997 by Robert H. Edwards, recognizes a student's exceptional personal achievements and uncommon contributions to the College.

Extracurricular awards were given to students who have demonstrated exemplary leadership and character during their time at Bowdoin. Departmental awards were presented to those students who excelled in particular fields of study.

The 2006 Sydney B. Karofsky Award for Junior Faculty, given annually to a member of the faculty who "best demonstrates the ability to impart knowledge, inspire enthusiasm, and stimulate intellectual curiosity," was awarded to Matthew W. Klingle, assistant professor of history and environmental studies.

Assistant Professor of Romance Languages Katherine Dauge-Roth delivered the Honors Day address. Dauge-Roth, recipient of the 2005 Sydney B. Karofsky Prize for Junior Faculty, gave a talk titled "On Becoming Honorable."

Dauge-Roth compared our concept of honor with that of 17th-century France during the period of King Louis XIV, when honor was "the supreme value of the elite" and "highly individualistic." She suggests looking at honor, instead, as being "neither individualistic, nor exclusionary."

After alluding to Joseph McKeen's 1802 "Offer of the College," Dauge-Roth noted that honor "must not only be reflexive, but instead look outward; not individual, but it must be lived within our relationships with others. Becoming honorable starts with honoring others in our daily lives.... Becoming honorable...means forging a common space of recognition, where we might both give and receive, honor and be honored."

Dauge-Roth concluded: "This evening, as we applaud your individual accomplishments and celebrate your amazing gifts, let us also strive for inclusion and relationship. And in all we do, may we be fully present in the acts of honoring and being honored, recognize our vulnerabilities as well as our strengths, and be forever becoming honorable." Read Professor Dauge-Roth's full address...

The Honors Day ceremony included music by the World Music Ensemble, who performed "Oya" and "Abucua." Pianist Robert K. Greenlee, associate professor of music, accompanied members of the Bowdoin Chamber Choir and the audience in the singing of the Alma Mater.

« Back | Campus News | Academic Spotlight | | Subscribe to Bowdoin News by Email