Campus News

Bowdoin Trustees Elect New Chair and Members

Story posted May 18, 2005

Peter M. Small '64 of Concord, Mass., was elected chair of the Board of Trustees during the Board's May 12-14, 2005, meetings on campus. Small will serve a three-year term beginning July 1.

Three new Trustees - Jeff D. Emerson '70 of Chevy Chase, Md., John F. McQuillan Jr. '87 of Boston, and Paula M. Wardynski '79 of New York City - were elected to their first terms on the Board.

In other action, the Board of Trustees approved a budget of $116 million for the 2005-06 fiscal year. The new budget includes an increase of 4.99 percent in Bowdoin's comprehensive fee, while funds set aside by the college for student financial aid will increase by 5.8 percent.

Peter M. Small is president of Spaulding and Slye Properties Co., a privately owned real estate firm headquartered in Concord, Mass. He joined the firm in 1971.

First elected Bowdoin overseer in 1988, then a trustee in 1996, Small has served on a number of College trustee committees, including Academic Affairs, Development and College Relations, Executive, Trustee Affairs, Investment, and Facilities. He chaired the trustee Subcommittee on Properties. He also served on Bowdoin's Committee on the Future, the Commission on Residential Life, the Ad Hoc Committee on Construction Projects, the Nominating Committee, and he chaired the Physical Plant Committee. He is currently a member of the Campaign Steering Committee.

Small earned his A.B. in history. He is the son, grandson, great grandson, and parent of Bowdoin graduates.

Small was also re-elected to another five-year term on the Board of Trustees.

Small succeeds Donald M. Zuckert '56 of New Castle, N.H., who served as chair from 2002 to 2005. Zuckert, who was elected overseer in 1987 and trustee in 1995, was elected trustee emeritus.

Jeff D. Emerson is chief information officer of Magellan Health Services in Columbia, Md., the nation's leading behavioral health and employee assistance company. His three-decade career in information technology and health care management has also included positions at CIGNA Healthplans, Digital Insurance, and SkyTel. A religion major at Bowdoin, Emerson won the Achorn Prize and Bradbury Prize, and was president of the debate council and assistant editor of The Bugle, Bowdoin's yearbook. He earned his master's degree in computer systems at American University, and is a member of Pi Alpha Alpha National Honor Society. His service to Bowdoin has included the Campaign Planning Committee, Alumni Council, BCAN advisor, Reunion Committee, and serving as the chair of the Leadership Gift Committee. Other board affiliations have included Health Plus Inc., NYLCare Health Plans, Baltimore Symphony Orchestra, House of Ruth, and Hospice of St. George's County. He has been a member of the Maryland Economic Development Commission and chapter chairman of Information Industry Association.

John F. McQuillan Jr. is chairman, president and CEO of Triumvirate Environmental in Somerville, Mass., a firm that serves the environmental and hazardous waste needs of clients throughout the northeast in the areas of education, healthcare, life science, and high tech. A double major in biochemistry and government at Bowdoin, he is currently a master's degree candidate at Harvard University. While at Bowdoin, McQuillan was a member of Chi Psi fraternity, served as Interfraternity Council president, and was a writing assistant. He currently serves on Bowdoin's President's Visiting Committee, and has hosted or sponsored alumni fund and 1794 Society events. He is a trustee of Boston College High School, served as director of the Environmental Business Council, and volunteers at the Just a Start House. In 2004 he was awarded the Paul Revere Liberty Bowl from the Boston Jaycees, which named him one of Boston's ten outstanding young leaders.

Paula M. Wardynski is vice president and treasurer at News America Incorporated, the international media and entertainment company whose diverse holdings include Fox Broadcasting, DirecTV, Harper Collins Publishing, and The New York Post. Wardynski majored in Romance languages at Bowdoin and graduated cum laude. She earned the Bowdoin Film Society Award and was a member of Delta Kappa Epsilon. As a student she served on the Student Life Committee and Board of Selectmen, as a proctor and senior interviewer, and was co-organizer of Project BABE, through which Bowdoin students worked with emotionally disabled children. She has served as Alumni Fund Director, as well as on the Alumni Council, BASIC, The New Century Campaign, The Campaign for Bowdoin, and the Leadership Gift Committee.

The Board of Trustees approved a 2005-06 budget of $116 million, an increase of 4.7% over the FY 2004/05 level. The budget includes modest increases for operating expenses and for faculty and staff compensation and benefits. Bowdoin, which competes for faculty and many administrators on a national level, is the second largest civilian employer in the midcoast Maine region.

The board approved a 4.99% increase in the comprehensive fee, a figure below the average 5.4% increase among Bowdoin's 18-college peer comparison group. For the academic year commencing September 2005, the comprehensive fee will be $41,660 ($33,650 for tuition, $8,670 for room and board, and $340 for the student activities fee).

In recognition of escalating costs and their impact on students and families, the board also approved an increase of 5.8% in student financial aid. Next year, Bowdoin will provide $16.6 million in need-based student aid to an estimated 42 percent of the student body.

The board voted to promote four faculty members to the rank of Associate Professor, with tenure, effective July 1, 2005. The newly tenured faculty are Joe Bandy, sociology; Thomas W. Baumgarte, physics and astronomy; Jennifer B. Clarke Kosak, classics; and Richmond R. Thompson, psychology and neuroscience.

In addition to Small, trustees re-elected to an additional five-year term on the board were David G. Brown '79 of Woodside, Calif., managing partner, Oak Hill Venture Partners; Marijane L. Benner Browne '83 of Sherborn, Mass., partner, Bingham McCutchen LLP; Michele G. Cyr '76 of Barrington, R.I., director, Division of General Internal Medicine, Brown Medical School; and Gregory E. Kerr '79 of New York City, doctor of medicine and associate professor of anesthesiology, Weill Medical College of Cornell University.

In addition to Zuckert, four board members were elected to emeritus status: Hon. David Michael Cohen '64 of Portland, Maine, U.S. magistrate judge, U.S. District Court; Dr. Michael Henderson Owens '73 of San Diego, Calif., president, Vow Solutions, Inc.; David Earl Warren '76 of Portland, Maine, managing partner, Verrill & Dana, LLP; and Barry Neal Wish '63 of Palm Beach, Fla., chairman emeritus, Ocwen Financial Corp.

The trustees elected two faculty members to emeritus status effective July 1, 2005. R. Wells Johnson was elected Isaac Henry Wing Professor of Mathematics, Emeritus; and Penny Martin was elected Associate Professor of Education, Emerita.

Staff member Pamalee J. Labbe was elected Administrative Assistant in the Department of Chemistry, Emerita, effective January 1, 2005.

« Back | Campus News | Academic Spotlight | | Subscribe to Bowdoin News by Email