Campus News

2005 Honors Day Ceremony Recognizes Bowdoin's Best

Story posted May 12, 2005

Bowdoin College held its ninth annual Honors Day ceremony this week to recognize students for their achievements and contributions to the College both in and out of the classroom. The ceremony was held May 11, 2005, at Pickard Theater, Memorial Hall.

In his welcoming remarks, President Barry Mills said: “This is among the most important nights at the College as we gather to acknowledge the achievement, success, and passion of our students and faculty and all the work they accomplish over the year.”

Following President Barry Mills's welcome, Assistant Professor of Romance Languages Arielle Saiber delivered the Honors Day address. Saiber, recipient of the 2004 Sydney B. Karofsky Prize for Junior Faculty, gave a talk titled "Rewarding." (Click here for a full-text version of her talk.)

"Receiving an award is not something that just happens, finished, done," she said. "It is something that both began many years ago when you first fell in love with the subjects at which you have excelled, and one that will continue throughout your life."

Saiber likened the students' achievements to the "present progressive" verb tense, which describes an action that happens in one moment and continues indefinitely. She also explained how an award is a re-ward, something that is seen again and again, and something that could be thought to echo Plato's statement that knowledge is recollection.

"If this is the case," continued Saiber, "then you already know everything and, by educating yourself, you merely need to re-member things. Living with this awareness can give us simultaneously a sense of great power and great humility. What could be more progressive than that?"

Following Saiber's address, students were recognized for winning national awards (students listed are Class of 2005 unless noted otherwise).

Fifteen members of the Class of 2005 and three members of the Class of 2004 have been elected to Phi Beta Kappa, a national honorary fraternity open to top scholars of the graduating class:

Christopher Michael Aderman
Eric Graham Bakkensen
Arwyn Carroll
Catherine Amalia Del Vecchio
Claire Melissa Falck
Adam Jermain Goodfellow
Lauren Mary Gray
Monica Guzman
Gregory Andrew Kelsey
Kathryn Reed Leach '04
Muhammad Daud Munir '04
Erika Lawren Nickerson
Camden Heather Ramsay
Matthew Patrick Spooner
Ella Augusta Thodal
Amy Ruth Titcomb '04
Eric Byrne Toan
Sean Ryan Turley

Six seniors earned Fulbright Teaching Awards. Fulbrights provide funding for study or teaching abroad for one year to promote cross-cultural interaction and increase mutual understanding. Daniel Coogan, Kevin Joseph Erspamer, Theodore Andrew Reinert, and Whitney Henderson Schrader will teach in Germany; Samuel Callan Downing will teach in Uruguay; and Heather Lynne Johnston will teach in France.

Two students have won Barry M. Goldwater Scholarships, which are awarded to highly qualified students who intend to pursue careers in the fields of science, mathematics or engineering. Recipients are Ethan Buggie Van Arnam '07 and Lucy Van Hook '06.

Gregory Rubin Goldsmith is the recipient of a National Science Foundation Research Experience for Undergraduates Fellowship at the University of Georgia.

Selena Clare McMahan has won a Thomas J. Watson Fellowship, which funds a year of independent study and travel abroad for a year after graduation.

Craig McEwen, dean for academic affairs, announced the winners of the Bowdoin College Research Awards. Over 100 students representing all class years were honored.

Craig Bradley, dean of student affairs, presented Commencement Awards and awards of general scholarship.

Truc Trong Huynh received the Goodwin Commencement Prize, and Caitlin Susanne Woo was awarded the Class of 1868 Prize. Both students will give Commencement addresses. Haliday Douglas received the DeAlva Stanwood Alexander first prize and will speak at Baccalaureate; Carolyn Pauline Dion received the DeAlva Stanwood Alexander second prize, and is the Commencement speaker alternate.

Jason Jonathan Lewis '06 received the Dorothy Haythorn Collins Award, which honors a student "who has achieved academic and general excellence in their chosen majors" at the end of the junior year.

President Mills presented Genevieve Ardouin Creedon with the Andrew Allison Haldane Cup. This cup is given to a member of the senior class who demonstrates outstanding qualities of leadership and character.

Jacklyn Fernandes Burgo was awarded the Lucien Howe Prize, given by the faculty to a member of the senior class who, as an undergraduate, showed the "highest qualities of conduct and character."

Kevin Deshawn Robinson was presented with the President's Award. This award, inaugurated in 1997 by Robert H. Edwards, recognizes a student's exceptional personal achievements and uncommon contributions to the College.

Extracurricular awards were given to students who have demonstrated exemplary leadership and character during their time at Bowdoin. Departmental awards were presented to those students who excelled in particular fields of study.

The 2005 Sydney B. Karofsky Award for Junior Faculty also was presented during the ceremony. The Karofsky Prize, given annually to a member of the faculty who "best demonstrates the ability to impart knowledge, inspire enthusiasm, and stimulate intellectual curiosity," was awarded to Katherine Dauge-Roth, assistant professor of romance languages.

Upon announcing the Karofsky award, Craig McEwen took the opportunity to join President Mills in recognizing all Bowdoin faculty members for their wonderful efforts and exceptional work.

Pianist Robert K. Greenlee, associate professor of music, performed Dvorak's "Theme from the New World Symphony," and accompanied members of the Bowdoin Chamber Choir and the audience in the singing of the Alma Mater. An interlude, "Themes and Variations on a Dvorak Tune," was performed by flutist Laura Wexler '05 and the music's composer, pianist Nicholas Kaspark '08.

« Back | Campus News | Academic Spotlight | | Subscribe to Bowdoin News by Email