Campus News

Bowdoin Honored for Tobacco Policy

Award Presentation
Julia Shaver '05, Alexandra Ogata '06, and Katie Mitterling '06 with the MTFCN Award.

Story posted November 18, 2004

Bowdoin College was presented with an award for its tobacco policy Thursday, November 18, in conjunction with the 28th Annual American Cancer Society's Great American Smokeout. Bowdoin was recognized for its "demonstrated leadership in adopting tobacco control policies that protect the health of students, faculty, and staff."

The award was created by the Maine Tobacco-Free College Network (MTFCN), a coalition of several groups, including the American Cancer Society, the State of Maine's Healthy Maine Partnerships, the Maine College Health Association, the American Lung Association, and the Partnership For A Tobacco-Free Maine.

Linda Christie of ACCESS Health, representing MTFCN, made the presentation. Dean of Student Affairs Craig Bradley accepted the award on behalf of the College.

"I'm here today to recognize Bowdoin College as one of Maine's leaders in higher education who are promoting tobacco-free lives," Christie said. "Since the Great American Smokeout is about shaping policy and helping smokers get on the road to quitting, it's a perfect time to honor colleges that have demonstrated a commitment to graduating as many non-smokers as possible. Bowdoin College is such a place."

(From left) Linda Christie, Craig Bradley, Jeff Benson, Julia Shaver, Alexa Ogata, Katie Mitterling.

Bradley thanked the MTFCN for their work throughout the state promoting tobacco-free lifestyles and healthy living. "We're proud to be a part of the Network," he said. In addition to educating in the classroom, he added, Bowdoin is dedicated to helping the campus community "develop habits that lead to engaged, active and healthy lives."

Bradley acknowledged Dr. Jeff Benson, director of health services and college physician, for his leadership in promoting healthy living on campus, and for "championing [the adoption of the College's smoking policy] two years ago." Bowdoin's policy does not permit indoor smoking on College property or within 50 feet of any building entrance.

(From left) Julia Shaver, Elizabeth Leiwant, Alexandra Ogata (holding the jar of tar), and Katie Mitterling at the information table.

The award was presented in David Saul Smith Union, where a group of volunteer students staffed an information table on smoking cessation and the dangers of smoking. Among the items on display was a "jar of tar," a glass container holding approximately 2 cups of dark, thick liquid resembling molasses - the amount of tar that accumulates from a year of smoking a half-pack of cigarettes per day. The display also featured a wealth of literature on kicking the habit, and anti-smoking-themed giveaways ranging from CD holders and hacky sacks to magnets and stickers. The information table was organized by Alexandra Ogata '06, Katie Mitterling '06, Julia Shaver '05, Thu-Nga Ho '07, and Elizabeth Leiwant '08.

The Human Resources Department provided materials on smoking cessation benefits for Bowdoin employees enrolled in the College health plan (Anthem), and set up additional information tables in Rhodes Hall, Moulton Union, and Thorne Hall.

Twenty-two other colleges throughout the state were also honored for their tobacco policies by the MTFCN.

"Twenty-three Maine colleges have chosen to take the lead in protecting the health of its students and staff," said Lucy Rioux, MTFCN co-chair in a press release. "Both public and private institutions, small and large, and from every corner of the state, these colleges will set a great example for others to follow."

« Back | Campus News | Academic Spotlight | | Subscribe to Bowdoin News by Email