Campus News

Board of Trustees Elects New Chair, Three New Members

Story posted May 29, 2002

The Bowdoin College Board of Trustees elected a new chair and three new members during its May 9-11 meetings on campus.

Donald M. Zuckert of New Castle, N.H., was elected chair of the board of trustees. He will serve a three-year term beginning July 1. Zuckert is vice chairman of DraftWorldwide, Inc., in New York City, and a member of the Bowdoin Class of 1956. Previously, he was chairman and chief executive officer of Ted Bates Worldwide, Inc., bought by Saatchi & Saatchi Co. in 1986. He was first elected Bowdoin overseer in 1987, and was elected trustee in 1995.

Zuckert succeeds Donald R. Kurtz '52 of Stamford, Conn., who was presented a Bowdoin chair in recognition of his service as chair over the last three years. Kurtz was also elected to serve an additional term on the Board.

The new trustees are William E. Chapman II, Class of 1963, Gerald C. Chertavian, Class of 1987, and John A. Gibbons Jr., Class of 1964. Each will serve a five-year term on the Board of Trustees, which is Bowdoin's governing body.

Chapman, of Annapolis, Md., is president of Longboat Retirement Planning Solutions, Inc., in Longboat Key, Fla. He has served as president of the Bowdoin Alumni Council, a representative to the Bowdoin Alumni Schools and Interviewing Committee (BASIC), associate class agent, reunion committee member, and alumni club president. Among other affiliations, he has served as chairman for the Greater Hartford Chapter of the American Red Cross, as corporator of the Renbrook School and the Hartford Hospital, on the board of regents of the College for Financial Planning, and as board member of Lake Forest Academy.

Chertavian, of Cambridge, Mass., is executive director of Year Up, a one-year training program that prepares urban young adults for life and work in the technology driven society of the 21st century. A native of Lowell, Mass., Chertavian earned his MBA at Harvard Business School in 1992. He became head of marketing at Transnational Financial Services in London, and went on to co-found Conduit Communications, which sold to I-Cube in 1999. He has been active with the Big Brother mentoring program since 1985, and was named one of New York's outstanding Big Brothers in 1989. He was recently recognized by Boston Business Forward magazine as one of the city's 40 most promising individuals under the age of 40. He has served on Bowdoin's career advisory network, and as a BASIC representative.

Gibbons, of Greenwich, Conn., is managing partner of Odin Partners in New York City. His gift to Bowdoin established the Gibbons Summer Research Internship Fund, which enables students, working with the Educational Technology Center, to use technology to explore interdisciplinary areas and develop fresh approaches to the study of complex problems. His service to Bowdoin includes working as a BASIC representative, planned giving chair, class agent, alumni club president, and member of the alumni council. He earned his MBA from New York University. He is a trustee of the Gibbons Foundation. He and his wife Lile have four Bowdoin children (Jay '88, Adam '91, Jenny '96, and Amanda '03).

In addition to Kurtz, the following trustees were elected for an additional five-year term: William S. Janes '76 of Middleburg, Va., president of RMB Realty in Washington, D.C; Jane McKay Morrell '81 of Brunswick; and Barry N. Wish '63 of Palm Beach, Fla., chairman emeritus, Ocwen Financial Corp. in West Palm Beach.

Four Board retirees were elected to emeritus status in recognition of devoted service to Bowdoin. Elected trustee emeritus were Stanley F. Druckenmiller '75 of New York City, chairman and CEO, Duquesne Capital Management; Leon A. Gorman '56 of Yarmouth, chairman of the board, L.L. Bean; Samuel A. Ladd III '63 of Cumberland Foreside, president and CEO, Maine Bank and Trust; and Richard A. Morrell '50 of Brunswick, president, Downeast Energy & Building Supply.

The trustees elected four faculty members to emeritus status. Franklin G. Burroughs was elected Harrison King McCann Professor of the English Language Emeritus. A. Myrick Freeman III was elected William D. Shipman Professor of Economics Emeritus. John L. Howland was elected Josiah Little Professor of Natural Sciences and Professor of Biology and Biochemistry Emeritus. Burke O. Long was elected Kenan Professor of the Humanities Emeritus.

In recognition of devoted service to Bowdoin College, Kent John Chabotar was elected Vice President for Finance and Administration and Treasurer Emeritus, effective July 1. Chabotar recently was named president of Guilford College in Greensboro, N.C.

« Back | Campus News | Academic Spotlight | | Subscribe to Bowdoin News by Email