Campus News

Two Bowdoin Students Named Goldwater Scholars

Story posted April 15, 1999

April 21, 1999, BRUNSWICK, Maine -- Bowdoin students Adrienne Oakley '01 and Kimberly Schneider '00 have been awarded Barry M. Goldwater Scholarships. They were among 304 students nationwide chosen from 1,181 nominees for the scholarships.

The Goldwater scholarship program was authorized by Congress in 1986 to honor Senator Barry M. Goldwater, who had served his country for 56 years, including 30 years in the Senate. The purpose of the scholarships is to encourage outstanding students to pursue careers in mathematics, the natural sciences and engineering, with the intention of alleviating the shortage of qualified professionals in those fields.

Each year the Foundation awards scholarships to exceptional students who have the potential for such careers. As Goldwater Scholars, Oakley and Schneider will each receive $7,500 towards their tuition and fees.

Oakley, of Norwich, Conn., is majoring in geology. She plans to continue to graduate school to follow a career in oceanography. In the essay accompanying her nomination she wrote about a research project she assisted with last summer. She spent 18 days on a boat in the Bermuda Rise, where she and other scientists examined deep sea sediment to see how it related to glacial periods and paleo-climactic events of the past. At Bowdoin she has been a member of the Outing Club, Bears and Clubs and Masque and Gown.

Schneider, of Longmeadow, Mass., is one of only 17 math majors to be named Goldwater Scholars this year. She plans to pursue a doctorate in pure mathematics. In her Goldwater essay she wrote on the Goldbach Conjecture. As yet unproven for all numbers, it states that any number greater than four can be written as the sum of two odd prime numbers.

At Bowdoin, Schneider has participated in the concert band, the math club and is now serving as editor in chief of The Bowdoin Orient.

Goldwater Scholars have a history of going on to greater achievement. Six of the 32 Rhodes Scholars chosen this year were Goldwater Scholars. Many others have gone on to earn Marshall Awards, Churchill Fellowships, Fulbright Fellowships, Hughes Fellowships and National Science Foundation Fellowships.

« Back | Campus News | Academic Spotlight | | Subscribe to Bowdoin News by Email