Campus News

Thirty Maine Teachers Honored by Bowdoin

Story posted April 15, 1999

April 28, 1999, BRUNSWICK, Maine -- Bowdoin is honoring 30 Maine secondary school teachers with Distinguished Teaching Awards for the lasting affect they have had on the lives of their students.

The honorees have been invited to Bowdoin for a series of events on Thursday, April 29. They will attend a luncheon with their former students, a reception and an awards dinner. They will also be able to tour the campus and attend the Brodie Family Lecture. (Please see related story.)

The award was created this year to pay tribute to the important role of high school teachers in instilling students with a passion for learning. The first recipients of the award include men and women who teach subjects as diverse as English, chemistry and music. They come from two dozen high schools throughout the state from South Portland to Fort Kent.

The honorees were chosen because they were all former teachers of students who have excelled at Bowdoin. The students had written in their College application essays about the positive influence of these teachers. Bowdoin is grateful to these teachers for inspiring students to learn and preparing them to excel in college and beyond.

1999 Bowdoin College
Distinguished Teaching Award Recipients

Drew Milliken, Bangor High School
Walter Adams, Calais High School
Faith Vautour, Camden-Rockport High School
Denise Levesque, Caribou Senior High School
Diane Ackerman, Edward Little High School
Joyce DAugustine, Edward Little High School
Gary Spring, Falmouth High School
Doreen Emerson, Foxcroft Academy
John Kaleta, Fort Kent Community High School
Irene Murphy, Fort Kent Community High School
Michael Carter, Gorham High School
Joseph Foster, Kennebunk High School
Jennifer Oliver, Lewiston High School
Gary Benson, Lincoln Academy
Bill Cowan, Maine Central Institute
Arnold Shorey, Maine Central Institute
Celina Adams, Marshwood High School
Jeff Fischer, Mount Ararat School
Lynn Giallombardo, Mount Ararat School
David Stevenson, Mount View High School
Donald MacDougal, Nokomis Regional High School
Harold Kingsbury, North Yarmouth Academy
Ted Jordan, Cape Elizabeth High School
Sanford Phippen, Orono High School
George Pouravelis, Sanford High School
Thomas Major, South Portland High School
Gene Humphrey, South Portland High School
Michelle Lettiere, Waynflete School
Jackson Marland, Westbrook High School
Becky Pride, Yarmouth Junior/Senior High School.

« Back | Campus News | Academic Spotlight | | Subscribe to Bowdoin News by Email