Campus News

Common Hour Schedule Change

Story posted September 07, 2004

Now entering its sixth year, Common Hour is an occasion for students, faculty and staff to take time out of their busy routines, gather in a common space, and engage speakers, artists and one another in topics of common interest and concern.

This year the Common Hour format will be refocused to increase attendance and enhance the program. Instead of being scheduled each week, Common Hour will now occur every other Friday while classes are in session. For those weeks when a Common Hour gathering is not held, that 12:30-1:30 time slot will remain unscheduled, with the hope that departments and programs will use the hour to engage students and colleagues in conversation and activities.

Following is the Common Hour schedule for the upcoming 2004-2005 academic year:

Fall 2004
Friday, September 3
Friday, September 17
Friday, October 1
Friday, October 22
Friday, November 5
Friday, November 19

Spring 2005
Friday, January 28
Friday, February 11
Friday, February 25
Friday, April 1
Friday, April 15
Friday, April 29

Each semester will include one Karofsky Faculty Encore Lecture featuring a Bowdoin faculty member chosen by the senior class, and one Common Hour where students from Bowdoin's Music Department will perform chamber music. The semester's remaining four Common Hours will incorporate speakers who have been nominated by members of the Bowdoin Community to be part of the lecture series.

The first Common Hour of the semester will be on Friday, September 3, at 12:30 p.m. in Pickard Theater. Assistant Professor of Music Joanna Bosse will present the Karofsky Faculty Encore Lecture titled "Musical Properties: The Politics of Ownership, Identity, and Cross-Cultural Borrowing in Popular Music."

Common Hour is open to all Bowdoin students, faculty and staff.

For more information and a full Common Hour schedule visit bowdoin.edu/events/commonHour.

Questions may be directed to the Events and Summer Programs Office at (207) 725-3433.

(Posted 8/31/04)

« Back | Campus News | Academic Spotlight | | Subscribe to Bowdoin News by Email