

2021-22 Churchill Scholars

Shion Andrew Harvey Mudd College Astronomy

Jesskia Baral Washington University in St Louis Advanced Computer Science

Alec Cao UC-Santa Barbara Physics

Landon Clark University of Georgia Biochemistry (Babraham Institute)

Zoe Dietrich Bowdoin College Earth Sciences

Jacob Florian University of Michigan/Ann Arbor Physics

Daniel Gochenaur Purdue University Engineering (Aerodynamics)

Adam Konkol University of Pennsylvania Physics

Isaac MartinUniversity of UtahPure MathematicsAbrar NadrooColumbia UniversityPublic Policy

Abrar NadrooColumbia UniversityPublic PolicyGuowei QiUniversity of IowaChemistry

Pavan RavindraUniversity of Maryland/College ParkChemistryEmily SchultzBaylor UniversityPathology

Abigail Timmel University Pathology
Pathology
Physics Pathology

Abigail Timmel University of Pennsylvania Physics

Ana Sofia Uzsoy North Carolina State University Engineering (Machine Learning)

Jacob WattsColgate UniversityPlant SciencesAndrew ZhouCalifornia Institute of TechnologyBiochemistry

The Winston Churchill Foundation of the United States is pleased to announce the selection of 17 Churchill Scholars, including one Kanders Churchill Scholar in Science Policy, for the 2021-22 academic year. Thanks to a combination of donations and investment performance, we have added one new scholarship this year, making this the largest cohort in our history. The Churchill Scholarship is for one year of Master's study at Churchill College in the University of Cambridge. The awards cover full tuition, a stipend, travel costs, and the chance to apply for a \$2,000 special research grant.

Many Churchill Scholars describe their year in Cambridge as the best year of their lives. What makes the experience so exceptional is the unique opportunity to focus on independent research, the welcoming and non-hierarchical culture of Cambridge labs, the emphasis on worklife balance, and the rich environment for personal growth that Cambridge provides.

This program was established at the request of Sir Winston Churchill as part of the founding of Churchill College, Cambridge. It fulfils his vision of deepening the US–UK partnership in order to advance science and technology on both sides of the Atlantic, ensuring our future prosperity and security. Churchill College was established in 1960 as a predominantly science and technology college and the National and Commonwealth memorial to Sir Winston Churchill. The Churchill Scholarship dates to 1963.

The Kanders Churchill Scholarship is awarded from a pool of applicants to the Cambridge Master's in Public Policy. For the 16 Churchill Scholarships in mathematics, science, and engineering, we received 125 nominations from 80 Participating Institutions. Both of those numbers are close to the highest ever in the history of this competition.

Several of the Participating Institutions reached milestones with the selection of this year's Scholars. The University of Utah celebrates its sixth straight year of placing a Churchill Scholar, matching Harvard (1987-92) at second place for the longest winning streak, while coming close to Princeton's seven-year streak (1994-2000). Baylor and Bowdoin both placed their first-ever Churchill Scholar. For Baylor University, this was especially noteworthy because this is its first year as a Participating Institution. The University of Maryland/College Park has a fifth successful applicant in just four years. Caltech has its fourth successful applicant in four years. The University of Pennsylvania celebrates the success of both nominees in the same year for the first time in its history and also its fourth and fifth Churchill Scholars in five years.

The next nomination deadline is November 1, 2021.

For further information, contact Michael Morse, Executive Director of the Winston Churchill Foundation of the United States, 600 Madison Avenue, Suite 1601, New York NY 10022. Telephone 212-752-3200, Email mmorse@churchillscholarship.org www.churchillscholarship.org

See our video: Selecting the Best of the Best