Location: Bowdoin / IT / How To / Email / Deleted Items

Email

Get Help

Submit Help Ticket 24/7

Live Chat

Faculty/Staff
x3030 or 207-725-3030
Students
x5050 or 207-721-5050

Empty "Deleted Items" Folder on Exit

Follow these steps to automatically empty your “Deleted Items” when you Exit your mail program.

Outlook 2010

outlook empty trash

Click the File tab and then Options. Select Advanced.  Under Outlook Start and Exit, select the Empty the Deleted Items folder upon exiting check box.
To be warned before automatically deleting items, click on the Advanced tab, under Other, select the Prompt for confirmation before permanently deleting items check box.

Outlook 2007

outlook tools options    outlook options other
Select Tools>Options from the Command Menu.  In the Options dialog box select the Other tab and then select the checkbox at the top, Empty the Deleted Items folder upon exiting.  Select OK to save the setting.

Outlook 2011 for Macintosh

outlook 2011 empty trash

Click on the Tools menu and select Run Schedule. Click on Edit Schedules. Double-click on Empty Deleted Items Folder and change Manually to On Quit under the When section.

Web Mail

owe empty deleted items

In the top right click Options/See All Options from the menu. Click Settings in the list on the left. Click Mail (from the four icons at the top). Under Message Options, select the checkbox next to Empty the Deleted Items folder when I sign out. Click Save (at the bottom right of the web page).

Document author:
jhaugen
Last modified:
Feb 10, 2012