Student Awards - 2012

Merck Index Award
Recognizes exceptional work by a senior chemistry or biochemistry major who is pursuing a career in chemistry or medicine.
Pornchai Kaewsapsak '12

William Campbell Root Award
Established in honor of Professor William Root, recognizes a senior chemistry major who has provided service and support to chemistry at Bowdoin beyond the normal academic program.
Kaitlin Clifford '12

Hypercube Award
Sponsored by the Hypercube software company, the award is given to a student with an interest in molecular mechanics and modeling.
Basyl Stuyvesant '13

Philip W. Meserve Prize in Chemistry

Established in memory of Professor Philip Meserve '11, Bowdoin faculty from 1914-1940, this prize is awarded to a junior chemistry or biochemistry major.
Award-Van Nhat Tra '13

ACS Award in Analytical Chemistry

Sponsored by the Analytical Chemistry Division of the American Chemical Society, this award recognizes superior work in the area of analytical chemistry.
Nathan Miller '13

ACS Award in Inorganic Chemistry
Sponsored by the Inorganic Chemistry Division of the American Chemical Society, this award recognizes superior work in the area of inorganic chemistry.
Daniel Polasky '13

Kamerling Laboratory Award
Established in memory of Chemistry Professor Samuel Kamerling, Bowdoin College faculty member from 1934-1969, this award recognizes outstanding laboratory work in Organic Chemistry.
Samuel Burnim '14

US Chemical Rubber Company First Year Award

Recognizing outstanding achievement and promise in chemistry, this award is sponsored by the CRC Press. Students are recognized based on their performance in chemistry laboratory courses.
Yabing Liu '15

U.S. Chemical Rubber Company Laboratory Award

Recognizes outstanding performance by a first year student in the chemistry laboratory.
Joshua Friedman '15 and Duncan Flynn '15

ACS Maine Award
Sponsored by the Maine Section of the American Chemical Society, recognizes superior work by an outstanding graduating senior from the state of Maine.
Audrey Bergeron '12
AIC Award
Sponsored by the American Institute of Chemists, recognizes an outstanding senior majoring in Chemistry or Biochemistry who has demonstrated a record of leadership, ability, character and scholastic achievement.
Jonathan Ryss  '12