Faculty Seminar Series

Fall 2016

12:00 - 1:00 p.m., Main Lounge, Moulton Union
Open to Faculty and Staff
Subject to Change


Wed., Sept. 7  Sarah Bay-Cheng (Theater & Dance)
“New Media, New Methods: Digital Historiography and Performance” 

Tues., Sept. 13  Thomas Baumgarte (Physics)
"Gravitational Waves!"

Wed., Sept. 21  Michael Kolster (Visual Arts) 
"Hawaiian Syntheses and Synthetics: Photographing Between a Rock and a Hard (Plastic) Place” 

Wed., Sept. 28  Anne Goodyear (Bowdoin College Museum of Art) 
“'This Is a Portrait If I Say So': The Concept of Identity in Art of the Recent Past”

Wed., Oct. 5  Charles Cunningham (Mathematics)
“How Big is Infinity?”

Tues., Oct. 18   Suzanne Lovett (Psychology) and Nancy Jennings (Associate Professor of Education Emerita) 
"Embracing the Messiness of Liberal Education"
Wed., Oct. 26   Daniel Stone (Economics)
"Just a Big Misunderstanding? A Behavioral Economics Perspective on Affective Polarization"

Tues., Nov. 1  Strother Roberts (History)
"History Gone to the Dogs: Canines, Humans, and Other Animals in Early New England" 
Wed., Nov. 9  Manuel Reyes (Mathematics) 
"Geometric Journeys: Toward a Quantum Conception of Space"

Tues., Nov. 15  
Meryem Belkaïd (Romance Languages and Literatures)   
 “Algerian Women Writers and the Algerian Civil War: Islam as a Source of Ethical Revolt Against Terrorism”

Wed., Nov. 30   Allison Cooper (Romance Languages and Literatures and Cinema Studies)
"Horror in the Sacred City: Rome on Film in the New Millennium"

Tues., Dec. 6   Stephen Morris (Economics) 
"Validating China's Output Data Using Satellite Observations"