Departmental Directory 2018-2019

Department/Program Chair/Director
name
Chair/Dir phone   Chair/Dir email
@Bowdoin.edu 
Coordinator 
Name
          Coord 
phone     
Coord emal
@bowdoin.edu 
Building
Africana Studies Program Brian Purnell x3452 bpurnell Elizabeth Palmer x3272 epalmer2 Adams
Arctic Studies Program Susan Kaplan x3289 skaplan KimNoelle Hopson x3062 khopson Hubbard
Art-Art History Division Steve Perkinson* x7080 sperkins Martha Janeway x3697 mjaneway Visual Arts Center
Art-Visual Arts Division Mike Kolster x3185 mkolster Alicia Menard x3861 amenard2 Edwards Art Building 
Asian Studies Program Belinda Kong x4316 bkong Suzanne Astolfi x3046 sastolfi 38 College Street
Biochemistry Program Danielle Dube x4326 ddube Emily Murphy x3218 emurphy Druckenmiller
Biology Barry Logan x3944 blogan Mary Keenan x3582 mkeenan Druckenmiller
Chemistry Beth Stemmler x3633 estemmle Emily Murphy x3218 emurphy Druckenmiller
Cinema Studies Program Tricia Welsch x3532 twelsch Laurie Holland x3552 lholland Massachusetts
Classics Rob Sobak x3664 rsobak Sandra Kauffman x3782 skauffma Sills
Computer Science Stephen Majercik x3106 smajerci Sue Theberge x3567 theberge Seales
Earth and Oceanographic Science Phil Camill x5149 pcamill Bridget Spaeth x3628 bspaeth Roux 
Economics Rachel Connelly x3790 connelly Elizabeth Weston x3340 eweston Hubbard
Education Doris Santoro x4309 dsantoro Lynn Brettler x3465 lbrettle Riley House
English Brock Clarke x3252 bclarke Laurie Holland x3552 lholland Massachusetts
Environmental Studies Program Matthew Klingle x7141 mklingle Rosie Armstrong x3396 rarmstro Roux 
Gender, Sexuality, & Women's Studies Prog. Marilyn Reizbaum x3364 mreizbau Beth Levesque    (temp)  x3834 blevesqu Ham House
German Jill Smith x3987 jsmith5 Kate Flaherty x3357 kflahert Sills
Government Paul Franco x3381 pfranco Lynne Atkinson x3295 latkinso Hubbard
History David Gordon x3298 dgordon Rebecca Banks x3291 rbanks Hubbard
Latin American Studies Program Nadia Celis x5687 ncelis Jean Harrison x3217 jsellers Pols House
Mathematics Bill Barker x3571 barker Sue Theberge x3567 theberge Searles
Music Vin Shende x7055 vshende Clare MacKenzie x3321 cmacken2 Gibson
Neuroscience Program Rick Thompson x3544 rthompso Mary Keenan x3582 mkeenan Druckenmiller
Philosophy Sarah Conly x5672 sconly Jean Harrison x3217 jsellers Pols House
Physics Dale Syphers x3606 dsyphers Emily Briley x3308 ebriley Searles
Psychology Sam Putnam x3152 sputnam Donna Trout x3339 dtrout Kanbar
Religion Elizabeth Pritchard x3349 epritcha Lynn Brettler x3465 lbrettle Kanbar
Romance Languages and Literatures Katherine Dauge-Roth    x3915 kdauge Kate Flaherty x3357 kflahert Sills
Russian Alyssa Gillespie x5017 agillesp Sandra Kauffman x3782 skauffma Sills
Sociology and Anthropology Krista Van Vleet x3817 kvanvlee Lori Brackett x3651 lbracket Adams
Theater and Dance Sarah Bay-Cheng x3419 sbaychen JJ Peeler x3663 jpeeler Memorial Hall /Edwards
Digital & Computational Studies Initiative Eric Chown x3084 echown Martha Janeway x3697 mjaneway Visual Arts Center
*chair of Department of Art