Academic Calendar 2023-2024

Bowdoin's 222nd Academic Year

All dates are tentative and subject to change. Last updated: July 2022
*Please see the bottom of this page for a list of federally recognized holidays, religious holidays, and Bowdoin's policy on the observance of religious holidays.

Fall 2023 (tentative)

August 20-21, Sun.–Mon. First-Year International Student Orientation
August 22, Tues. First-Year arrival day
August 23-26, Wed.–Sat. Orientation Trips
August 26-29, Sat.–Tues. Orientation
August 27, Sun. College housing ready for occupancy for upperclass students, noon
August 29, Tues. Opening of the College—Convocation, 3:30 p.m.
August 30, Wed. Fall semester classes begin, 8:00 a.m.
September 7-10, Thurs.-Sun. Explore Bowdoin I
September 21-23, Thurs.–Sat. Alumni Council, Alumni Fund Directors, and BRAVO National Advisory Board meetings
October 6, Fri. Fall vacation begins after last class
October 11, Wed. Fall vacation ends, 8:00 a.m.
October 13-15, Fri.-Sun. Homecoming Weekend
October 19-21, Thurs.-Sat. Meetings of the Board of Trustees
October 19-22, Thurs.–Sun. Explore Bowdoin II
October 27, Fri. Sarah and James Bowdoin Day
October 27-29, Fri.–Sun. Family Weekend
November 7, Tues. Election Day
November 22, Wed. Thanksgiving vacation begins, 8:00 a.m.
November 27, Mon. Thanksgiving vacation ends, 8:00 a.m.
December 8, Fri. Last day of classes
December 9-12, Sat.–Tues. Reading period
December 13-18, Wed.–Mon. Fall semester examinations
December 19, Tues. College housing closes for winter break, noon
December 22–January 1, Fri.-Mon. College Holidays, most offices closed

Spring 2024 (tentative)

January TBD Sophomore Bootcamp, Career Exploration and Development
January 20, Sat. College housing available for occupancy, 8:30 a.m.
January 22, Mon. Spring semester classes begin, 8:00 a.m.
February 8-10, Thurs.–Sat. Meetings of the Board of Trustees
March 8, Fri. Spring vacation begins after last class
March 9, Sat. College housing closes for spring vacation, noon
March 23, Sat. College housing available for occupancy, 8:30 a.m.
March 25, Mon. Spring vacation ends, 8:00 a.m.
April 4-6, Thurs.–Sat. Alumni Council, Alumni Fund Directors, and BRAVO National Advisory Board meetings
April 11-13, Thurs.–Sat. Admitted Student Open House
May 3, Fri. Honors Day
May 8, Wed. Last day of classes
May 9-11, Thurs.–Sat. Meetings of the Board of Trustees
May 9-12, Thurs.–Sun. Reading period
May 13-18, Mon.–Sat. Spring semester examinations
May 19, Sun. College housing closes for nongraduating students, noon
May 24, Fri. Baccalaureate
May 25, Sat. The 219th Commencement Exercises
May 25, Sat. College housing closes for graduating students, 6:00 p.m.
May 30-June 2, Thurs.–Sun. Reunion Weekend
In recognition of Bowdoin’s commitment to a diverse and inclusive student body and the variety of religions observed and practiced by our students, faculty are encouraged to avoid conflicts between in class examinations and other significant academic work and major religious holidays. The calendar below was developed in collaboration with the Director of Religious and Spiritual Life, and includes major observances of the officially recognized religious groups at Bowdoin. In addition, the multifaith calendar from the Harvard Divinity School is a valuable resource regarding many other religious observances that do not appear in the list below but that may be of significance to members of our community.
Students are expected to declare their intention to observe religious holidays at the beginning of the semester, and to work with an instructor when there is a conflict with a scheduled examination, paper, or project due date and a significant religious holiday observed by the student so that, when warranted, alternative arrangements for completing the work may be made. Students or faculty who have any questions regarding how best to balance the academic calendar alongside religious observances are encouraged to consult with the Director of Religious and Spiritual Life.

Religious Holidays

Not within 2023–2024 academic year Eid-al-Adha
September 15-17, Fri.-Sun. Rosh Hashanah, begins at sundown on Sept. 15 and concludes at sundown on Sept. 17
September 24-25, Sun.-Mon. Yom Kippur, begins at sundown on Sept. 24 and concludes at sundown on Sept. 25
November 12, Sun. Diwali
March 10-April 9, Sun.-Tues. Ramadan, begins at first light on March 10 and concludes at last light on April 9
March 29, Fri. Good Friday
March 31, Sun. Easter
April 9-10, Tues.-Wed. Eid-al-Fitr, begins at sundown on April 9
April 22-30, Mon.-Tues. Passover, begins at sundown on April 22 and concludes at sundown on April 30

Federally Recognized Holidays

September 4, Mon. Labor Day (Classes in session, College holiday, some offices closed)
October 9, Mon. Columbus Day* (Classes not in session - Fall Break, but offices are open)
November 10, Fri. Veterans Day holiday observed (Classes in session, offices open)
November 23, Thurs. Thanksgiving (Nov 22-24 are College holidays, most offices closed)
December 25, Mon. Christmas Day (College holiday, most offices closed)
January 1, Mon. New Year's Day (College holiday, most offices closed)
January 15, Mon. Martin Luther King, Jr. Day (College holiday, some offices closed)
February 19, Mon. Presidents' Day (Classes in session, College holiday, some offices closed)
May 27, Mon. Memorial Day (College holiday, many offices closed)
June 19, Wed. Juneteenth (College holiday, most offices closed)
July 4, Thurs. Fourth of July (College holiday, most offices closed)

*Recognized in Maine and 46 other states as Indigenous Peoples' Day