220th Academic Year

2021-2022

Subject to change. Last updated: 21 Feb 2019
*Please see the bottom of this page for a list of federally recognized holidays, religious holidays, and Bowdoin's policy on the observance of religious holidays.

Fall 2021

August 24, Tuesday First Year arrival day
August 25-28, Wed.-Sat. Orientation Trips
August 28-31, Sat.-Tues. Orientation
August 29, Sunday College housing ready for occupancy for upperclass students, noon
August 31, Tuesday Opening of the College—Convocation, 3:30 p.m.
September 1, Wednesday Fall semester classes begin, 8:30 a.m.
September 16-19, Thurs.-Sun. Explore Bowdoin I
September 18, Sat. Common Good Day
September 23-25, Thurs.-Sat. Alumni Council, Alumni Fund Directors and BRAVO National Advisory Board meetings
October 1-3, Fri.-Sun. Homecoming Weekend
October 8, Friday Fall vacation begins after last class
October 13, Wednesday Fall vacation ends, 8:00 a.m.
October 14-16, Thurs.-Sat. Meetings of the Board of Trustees
October 22, Friday Sarah and James Bowdoin Day
October 22-24, Fri.-Sun. Family Weekend
November 2, Tuesday Election Day
November 4-7, Thurs.-Sun. Explore Bowdoin II
November 24, Wednesday Thanksgiving vacation begins, 8:00 a.m. * (November 24-26: College holidays, many offices closed)
November 29, Monday Thanksgiving vacation ends, 8:00 a.m.
December 10, Friday Last day of classes
December 11-14, Sat.-Tues. Reading period
December 15-20, Wed.-Mon. Fall semester examinations
December 21, Tuesday College housing closes for winter break, noon
December 23-31, Thu.-Fri. College holidays, many offices closed

Spring 2022

January 22, Saturday College housing available for occupancy, 8:00 a.m.
January 24, Monday Spring semester classes begin, 8:30 a.m.
February 10-12, Thurs.-Sat. Meetings of the Board of Trustees
March 11, Friday Spring vacation begins after last class
March 12, Saturday College housing closes for spring vacation, noon
March 26, Saturday College housing available for occupancy, 8:00 a.m.
March 28, Monday Spring vacation ends, 8:00 a.m.
March 31-April 2, Thurs.-Sat. Alumni Council, Alumni Fund Directors and BRAVO National Advisory Board meetings
April 7-9, Thurs.-Sat. Admitted Student Open House
May 11, Wednesday Last day of classes; Honors Day
May 12-14, Thurs.-Sat. Meetings of the Board of Trustees
May 12-15, Thurs.Sun. Reading period
May 16-21, Mon.-Sat. Spring semester examinations
May 22, Sunday College housing closes for non-graduating students, noon
May 27, Friday Baccalaureate
May 28, Saturday The 217th Commencement Exercises
May 28, Saturday College housing closes for graduating students, 6:00 p.m.
June 2-5, Thurs.-Sun. Reunion Weekend
In recognition of Bowdoin’s commitment to a diverse and inclusive student body and the variety of religions observed and practiced by our students, faculty are encouraged to avoid conflicts between in class examinations and other significant academic work and major religious holidays. The calendar below was developed in collaboration with the Director of Religious and Spiritual Life, and includes major observances of the officially recognized religious groups at Bowdoin. In addition, the multifaith calendar from the Harvard Divinity School is a valuable resource regarding many other religious observances that do not appear in the list below but that may be of significance to members of our community.
Students are expected to declare their intention to observe religious holidays at the beginning of the semester, and to work with an instructor when there is a conflict with a scheduled examination, paper, or project due date and a significant religious holiday observed by the student so that, when warranted, alternative arrangements for completing the work may be made. Students or faculty who have any questions regarding how best to balance the academic calendar alongside religious observances are encouraged to consult with Eduardo Pazos, Director of Religious and Spiritual Life.

Religious Holidays

September 6-8, Mon.-Wed. Rosh Hashanah, begins at sundown on Sept. 6 and concludes at sundown on Sept. 8
September 15-16, Wed.-Thurs. Yom Kippur, begins at sundown on Sept. 15 and concludes at sundown on Sept. 16
November 4, Thursday Diwali
April 2-May 1, Sat.-Sun. Ramadan begins at first light on April 2 and concludes at last light on May 1
April 15-22, Fri.-Fri. Passover, begins at sundown on April 15 and concludes at sundown on April 22
April 15, Friday Good Friday
April 17, Sunday Easter
May 2-4, Mon.-Wed. Eid-al-Fitr begins at last light on May 1

Federally Recognized Holidays

September 6, Monday Labor Day (College holiday, some offices closed)
October 11, Monday Columbus Day (Classes not in session - Fall Break, but offices are open)
November 11, Thursday Veterans Day (Classes in session, offices open)
November 25, Thursday Thanksgiving (College holiday, most offices closed)
December 25, Saturday Christmas (College holidays, most offices closed)
January 17, Monday Martin Luther King, Jr. Day (College holiday, some offices closed)
February 21, Monday Presidents' Day (Classes in session, College holiday, some offices closed)
May 30, Monday Memorial Day (College holiday, many offices closed)
July 4, Monday Fourth of July Holiday (College holiday, many offices closed)