219th Academic Year

2020-2021

Subject to change. Last updated: 21 Feb 2019
*Please see the bottom of this page for a list of federally recognized holidays, religious holidays, and Bowdoin's policy on the observance of religious holidays.

Fall 2020

August 25, Tuesday First Year arrival day
August 26-29, Wed.-Sat. Orientation Trips
August 29-Sept. 1, Sat.-Tues. Orientation
August 30, Sunday College housing ready for occupancy for upperclass students, noon
September 1, Tuesday Opening of the College—Convocation, 3:30 p.m.
September 2, Wednesday Fall semester classes begin, 8:30 a.m.
September 17-20, Thurs.-Sun. Explore Bowdoin I
September 24-26, Thurs.-Sat. Alumni Council, Alumni Fund Directors and BRAVO National Advisory Board meetings
September 26, Saturday Common Good Day
October 2-4, Fri.-Sun. Homecoming Weekend
October 9, Friday Fall vacation begins after last class
October 14, Wednesday Fall vacation ends, 8:00 a.m.
October 15-17, Thurs.-Sat. Meetings of the Board of Trustees
October 23, Friday Sarah and James Bowdoin Day
October 23-25, Fri.-Sun. Family Weekend
November 3, Tuesday Election Day
November 5-8, Thurs.-Sun. Explore Bowdoin II
November 25, Wednesday Thanksgiving vacation begins, 8:00 a.m. * (November 25-27: College holidays, many offices closed)
November 30, Monday Thanksgiving vacation ends, 8:00 a.m.
December 9, Wednesday Last day of classes
December 10-13, Thurs.-Sun. Reading period
December 14-19, Mon.-Sat. Fall semester examinations
December 20, Sunday College housing closes for winter break, noon
December 24-31, Thurs.-Thurs. College Holidays, many offices closed

Spring 2021

January 23, Saturday College housing available for occupancy, 8:00 a.m.
January 25, Monday Spring semester classes begin, 8:30 a.m.
February 4-6, Thurs.-Sat. Meetings of the Board of Trustees
March 12, Friday Spring vacation begins after last class
March 13, Saturday College housing closes for spring vacation, noon
March 27, Saturday College housing available for occupancy, 8:00 a.m.
March 29, Monday Spring vacation ends, 8:00 a.m.
March 25-27, Thurs.-Sat. Alumni Council, Alumni Fund Directors and BRAVO National Advisory Board meetings
April 15-17, Thurs.-Sat. Admitted Student Open House
May 12, Wednesday  Last day of classes; Honors Day
May 13-15, Thurs.-Sat. Meetings of the Board of Trustees
May 13-16, Thurs.-Sun. Reading period
May 17-22, Mon.-Sat. Spring semester examinations
May 23, Sunday College housing closes for non-graduating students, noon
May 28, Friday Baccalaureate
May 29, Saturday The 216th Commencement Exercises
May 29, Saturday College housing closes for graduating students, 6:00 p.m.
Jun 3-6, Thurs.-Sun. Reunion Weekend
In recognition of Bowdoin’s commitment to a diverse and inclusive student body and the variety of religions observed and practiced by our students, faculty are encouraged to avoid conflicts between in class examinations and other significant academic work and major religious holidays. The calendar below was developed in collaboration with the Director of Religious and Spiritual Life, and includes major observances of the officially recognized religious groups at Bowdoin. In addition, the multifaith calendar from the Harvard Divinity School is a valuable resource regarding many other religious observances that do not appear in the list below but that may be of significance to members of our community.
Students are expected to declare their intention to observe religious holidays at the beginning of the semester, and to work with an instructor when there is a conflict with a scheduled examination, paper, or project due date and a significant religious holiday observed by the student so that, when warranted, alternative arrangements for completing the work may be made. Students or faculty who have any questions regarding how best to balance the academic calendar alongside religious observances are encouraged to consult with Eduardo Pazos, Director of Religious and Spiritual Life.

Religious Holidays

September 18-20, Fri.-Sun. Rosh Hashanah, begins at sundown on Sept. 18 and concludes at sundown on Sept. 20
September 27-28, Sun.-Mon. Yom Kippur, begins at sundown on Sept. 27 and concludes at sundown on Sept. 28
November 14, Saturday Diwali
March 27-April 4, Sat.-Sun. Passover, begins at sundown on March 27 and concludes at sundown on April 4
April 2, Friday Good Friday
April 4, Sunday Easter
April 13-May 12, Tues.-Wed. Ramadan, begins at first light on April 13 and concludes at last light on May 12
May 13-15, Thurs.-Sat. Eid-al-Fitr, begins at sundown on May 12

Federally Recognized Holidays

September 7, Monday Labor Day (College holiday, some offices closed)
October 12, Monday Columbus Day (Classes not in session - Fall Break, but offices are open)
November 11, Wednesday Veterans Day (Classes in session, offices open)
November 26, Thursday Thanksgiving (College holiday, many offices closed)
December 25, Friday Christmas (College holiday, many offices closed)
January 1, Friday New Year's Day Holiday (College Holiday, many offices closed)
January 18, Monday Martin Luther King, Jr. Day (College holiday, some offices closed)
February 15, Monday Presidents' Day (Classes in session, College holiday, some offices closed)
May 31, Monday Memorial Day (College holiday, many offices closed)
July 5, Monday Fourth of July Holiday observed (College Holiday, many offices closed)