218th Academic Year (tentative calendar - subject to change)

2019  
August 27, Tuesday First Year arrival day
August 28-31, Wed.-Sat. Orientation Trips
August 31-Sept. 3, Sat.-Tues. Orientation
September 1, Sunday College housing ready for occupancy for upperclass students, noon
September 2, Monday Labor Day (College holiday, some offices closed)
September 3, Tuesday Opening of the College—Convocation, 3:30 p.m.
September 4, Wednesday Fall semester classes begin, 8:00 a.m.
September 19-21, Thurs.-Sat. Alumni Council, Alumni Fund Directors and BASIC National Advisory Board meetings
September 21, Saturday Common Good Day
October 11, Friday Fall vacation begins after last class
October 11-13, Fri.-Sun. Homecoming Weekend
October 16, Wednesday Fall vacation ends, 8:00 a.m.
October 17-19, Thurs.-Sat. Meetings of the Board of Trustees
October 25, Friday Sarah and James Bowdoin Day
October 25-26, Fri.-Sat. Family Weekend
November 27, Wednesday Thanksgiving vacation begins, 8:00 a.m. * (November 27-29: College holidays, many offices closed)
December 2, Monday Thanksgiving vacation ends, 8:00 a.m.
December 11, Wednesday Last day of classes
December 12-15, Thurs.-Sun. Reading period
December 16-21, Mon.-Sat. Fall semester examinations
December 22, Sunday College housing closes for winter break, noon
December 24-31, Tues.-Tues. College Holidays, many offices closed
 
2020  
January 1, Wednesday New Year's Day Holiday (College Holiday, many offices closed)
January 19, Sunday College housing available for occupancy, 8:00 a.m.
January 20, Monday Martin Luther King, Jr. Day (College holiday, some offices closed)
January 21, Tuesday Spring semester classes begin, 8:00 a.m.
February 6-8, Thurs.-Sat. Meetings of the Board of Trustees
February 17, Monday Presidents' Day (Classes in session, College holiday, some offices closed)
March 6, Friday Spring vacation begins after last class
March 7, Saturday College housing closes for spring vacation, noon
March 21, Saturday College housing available for occupancy, 8:00 a.m.
March 23, Monday Spring vacation ends, 8:00 a.m.
April 2-4, Thurs.-Sat. Alumni Council, Alumni Fund Directors and BASIC National Advisory Board meetings
May 6, Wednesday (or May 7, Thursday) Last day of classes; Honors Day
May 7-9, Thurs.-Sat. Meetings of the Board of Trustees
May 7-10, Thurs.-Sun. Reading period
May 11-16, Mon.-Sat. Spring semester examinations
May 17, Sunday College housing closes for non-graduating students, noon
May 22, Friday Baccalaureate
May 23, Saturday The 215th Commencement Exercises
May 23, Saturday College housing closes for graduating students, 6:00 p.m.
May 25, Monday Memorial Day (College holiday, many offices closed)
May 28-31, Thurs.-Sun. Reunion Weekend
July 3, Friday Fourth of July Holiday observed (College Holiday, many offices closed)
*Regular class schedules in effect on holidays listed unless otherwise noted. Staff, check with supervisor to determine if office is closed.

In recognition of Bowdoin’s commitment to a diverse and inclusive student body and the variety of religions observed and practiced by our students, faculty are encouraged to avoid conflicts between in-class examinations and other significant academic work and major religious holidays. The calendar below was developed in collaboration with the Director of Religious and Spiritual Life, and includes major observances of the officially recognized religious groups at Bowdoin. In addition, the multifaith calendar from the Harvard Divinity School is a valuable resource regarding many other religious observances that do not appear in the list below but that may be of significance to members of our community.

Students are expected to declare their intention to observe religious holidays at the beginning of the semester, and to work with an instructor when there is a conflict with a scheduled examination, paper, or project due date and a significant religious holiday observed by the student so that, when warranted, alternative arrangements for completing the work may be made.

Students or faculty who have any questions regarding how best to balance the academic calendar alongside religious observances are encouraged to consult with Eduardo Pazos, Director of Religious and Spiritual Life.

Sept. 29-Oct. 1, Sun.-Tues. Rosh Hashanah, begins at sundown on Sept. 29 and concludes at sundown on Oct. 1
Oct. 8-9, Tues.-Wed. Yom Kippur, begins at sundown on Oct. 8 and concludes at sundown on Oct. 9
Apr. 9-16, Thurs.-Thurs. Passover, begins at sundown on April 9 and concludes at sundown on April 16
April 10, Friday Good Friday
April 12, Sunday Easter
April 24, Friday Ramadan, begins at first light on April 24 and concludes at last light on May 23
May 23, Sat.- May 26, Tues. Eid-al-Fatr, begins at sundown