Bowdoin Climate Committees

With Bowdoin's Climate Implementation Plan complete, Bowdoin's Climate Commitment Advisory Committee has been replaced by two separate groups.  The Climate Plan Implementation Committee is responsible for identifying, funding, and tracking greenhouse gas-reducing initiatives, reporting annually on the College’s greenhouse gas emissions, and updating the Carbon Neutrality Implementation Plan every two years. The Faculty Working Group on Sustainability - comprised of faculty, staff and students - is charged with producing a set of specific proposals that help align the work and lives of Bowdoin faculty, staff, and students with the goals of the Climate Action Plan and Environmental Mission Statement.  Achieving the goal of carbon neutrality by 2020 will demand active engagement from the entire Bowdoin community, thus the working group will consider all aspects of campus life and their relation to Bowdoin's climate commitment, including the calendar, the curriculum, student activities, residential life, athletics, dining, facilities, information technology, and transportation. 

Appointments to each committee are listed below.

Faculty Working Group on Sustainability

  • Barry Mills, President
  • William Barkalow, Class of 2014
  • Philip Camill, Chair, Program Director and Rusack Associate Professor of Environmental Studies and Biology 
  • Ben Farrell, Associate Director of Residential Education
  • Jonathan Held, Class of 2014
  • Eileen Johnson, Program Manager, Environmental Studies Department
  • S. Catherine Longley, Senior Vice President for Finance and Administration & Treasurer
  • Daniel Lowinger, Class of 2012
  • Sarah Paul, Career Advisor, Career Planning
  • Paul E. Schaffner, Associate Professor of Psychology
  • Susan E. Wegner, Associate Professor of Art History

Climate Action Plan Implementation Committee

  • S. Catherine Longley, Chair, Senior Vice President for Finance and Administration & Treasurer
  • Donald Borkowski, Director of Capital Projects
  • Keisha Payson, Sustainability Coordinator
  • Andy Price, Program Manager and Energy Analyst, Competitive Energy Services
  • Theodore Stam, Director of Facilities Operations and Maintenance
  • Del Wilson, Director of Finance and Campus Services