Administrative Organization

President of the College, Clayton S. Rose, the chief executive officer of the College, is involved with all aspects of Bowdoin’s operations and holds formal responsibility for intellectual leadership. He carries out the policies of the Board of Trustees, leads Bowdoin’s short- and long-term planning, operating and capital budgeting, and establishes fiscal and programmatic priorities. President Rose holds open office hours to meet and talk with students when he is on campus. The President’s Office is located on the second floor of Hawthorne-Longfellow Hall.

The Senior Vice President and Chief Information Officer works with other leaders from across the campus to strategically align technology solutions with the mission of the College. Reporting directly to the president, the CIO plays a key leadership role in the analysis and design of the College’s technology, digital and social media in support of learning and teaching, faculty research, and institutional vision. The CIO oversees a staff of forty-five professionals who collaborate closely with the academic and administrative departments to deliver exceptional technology solutions for our clients and partners, and is instrumental in making Bowdoin one of the most technically advanced liberal arts colleges in the country.

Dean of Student Affairs, Timothy W. Foster is the chief student affairs officer at the College and is responsible for much of the student experience beyond the classroom. He oversees a wide variety of campus offices that provide programs and services to Bowdoin students and serves as the principal voice relaying student concerns to the president of the College and the Board of Trustees. The Dean is also responsible for overseeing the College disciplinary system. Dean Foster’s office is located on the second floor of Moulton Union.

Senior Vice President for Development & Alumni Relations, Scott A. Meiklejohn oversees the offices related to fundraising, alumni relations, stewardship, and parent support. The offices communicate College priorities; secure financial support from alumni, parents and other members of the Bowdoin community; support thousands of volunteers; and engage Bowdoin alumni in activities that foster lifelong connections to each other and to the College. His office is located at 85 Federal Street.

Senior Vice President for Communications and Public Affairs, Scott W. Hood oversees the Office of Communications and Public Affairs, including proactive media relations, integrated marketing, public relations and publications programs, video and special events production, and strategic efforts in support of student recruitment and fundraising. Reporting to the president of the College, he is the primary College spokesperson and serves as secretary to the Executive Committee of the Board of Trustees. His office is located in the McLellan Building.

Senior Vice President for Finance and Administration and Treasurer, Matthew Orlando oversees many areas of the College administration, including all aspects of the College’s budget from planning to implementation; the administration of College finances, cash management, facilities and properties, and risk management. Divisions include the Controller’s Office, Dining Service and the Bookstore, Events and Summer Programs, Facilities Management, Human Resources, Safety and Security, and the Children's Center. The Treasurer’s Office is located in Ham House at 3 Bath Road.

Dean of Admissions and Financial Aid, E. Whitney Soule is responsible for the recruitment and selection of new students including all first-year and transfer students. She oversees the staff of the Admissions Office and the Student Aid Office and works with the president and the trustees to develop admissions and financial aid policies for the College. The Admissions Office is located in Burton-Little House at the corner of Park Row and College Street. The Student Aid Office is on Park Row behind Chamberlain.

Dean for Academic Affairs, Elizabeth McCormack is the chief academic officer of the College and is responsible for matters of general academic policy and faculty personnel policy. She oversees all aspects of the College that support the academic program, including the Library, Museums, the Center for Learning and Teaching, the Center for Co-Curricular Opportunities, the Registrar’s Office, the Coastal Studies Center, etc. She also oversees the use of academic spaces, including classroom design and renovation. The Dean for Academic Affairs promotes discussions of curriculum and pedagogy, plays a central role in obtaining institutional grants and funding for student and faculty research, and undertakes regular reviews of departments and programs. The Dean is involved in recruiting and hiring faculty and in faculty tenure and promotion decisions. The Office of the Dean for Academic Affairs is located on the second floor of Hawthorne-Longfellow Hall.

Chief Investment Officer and Senior Vice President, Paula J. Volent, CFA is responsible for the oversight and management of the College’s endowment, reporting directly to the president of the College and the Trustee Investment Committee. Her office is located at 80 Federal Street.

Vice President and Special Assistant to the President & Secretary of the College, Elizabeth (Eli) Orlic, serves as a principal aide to the President helping with coordination of projects and special situations related to the College’s goals and objectives. She manages many of the day to day operations of the President’s office and works with the President and senior staff on strategy and implementation on a wide range of College initiatives. Eli serves as the staff liaison to the Board of Trustees on matters not directly handled by the President. Reporting to the president of the College, her office is located on the second floor of Hawthorne-Longfellow Hall.