Goodwin French Prize

This prize, established by the Reverend Daniel Raynes Goodwin 1832, A.M. 1835, D.D. 1853, is awarded to the best scholar in French. (1890) 

Eaton Leith French Prize

The annual income of a fund, established by James M. Fawcett III '58 in honor of Eaton Leith, Professor of Romance Languages, is awarded to that member of the sophomore and junior class who, by his or her proficiency and scholarship, achieves outstanding results in the study of French literature. (1962) 

Charles Harold Livingston Honors Prize in French

This prize, established by former students and friends of Charles Harold Livingston, Longfellow Professor of Romance Languages, upon the occasion of his retirement, is awarded to encourage independent scholarship in the form of honors theses in French. (1956) 


Dante Prize in Italian

The Dante Prize is given to the student who writes the best essay on Dante that year.

Raimondi Prize in Italian

The Raimondi prize honors the most outstanding senior in Italian Studies. 


Philip C. Bradley Spanish Prize

This prize, established by classmates and friends in memory of Philip C. Bradley '66, is awarded to outstanding students in Spanish language and literature. (1982)

Romance Languages Prize - Sophomore Prize in Spanish

This prize, an anonymous gift from a Bowdoin alumna, is awarded annually to a sophomore Spanish major for demonstrated excellence and dedication to the study of Spanish.