Mike Poor '64


Citation for Mike Poor, 2014 Common Good Award recipient.

"Mike Poor of the Class of 1964, business executive and visionary philanthropist, you have been a leader in the establishment of the McKeen Center for the Common Good at Bowdoin, and you continue to seek ways in which the Center and the College might better serve the mission of promoting the common good in the world. Following your graduation from Bowdoin, you earned an MBA at Boston University. You became president of Sunburst Fruit Juices of Salem, Massachusetts, and you were the CEO of its successor company, NORBEV. With your wife, Loel, you established the Forest Foundation, which provides start-up funds to new and emerging non-profit organizations in the Boston area, and which has created life-changing summer internship opportunities for students over the years. The Bowdoin community is deeply grateful to you for your role in establishing the McKeen Center and for your active engagement in the life of the College. The McKeen Center has become a signature program for the College, and your inspired decision to create the Common Good Grant has taught Bowdoin students about the value and the challenges of philanthropy. The Center and the Common Good Grant program have become models that other colleges and universities are beginning to emulate. The internships that you support have expanded the missions of the McKeen Center and the Forest Foundation and are giving students the opportunity to engage in work that improves the lives of others—on local, national, and international levels. These initiatives will spread like amplifying ripples across generations to come. The example of your devotion to the Common Good matches President McKeen's eloquent words with actions. We are proud to share this day with your classmates as they celebrate their 50th Reunion, with your wife Loel and your daughters Tiffany, Bowdoin class of 1988; Sara, Bowdoin class of 1995; and Elizabeth. On behalf of the Board of Trustees and a grateful College, we are proud to present to you the 2014 Common Good Award."

May 31, 2014