Location: Bowdoin / Mathematics / Curriculum & Requirements / Departmental Prizes in Mathematics


Departmental Prizes in Mathematics

The Hammond Prize
A book is awarded on recommendation of the Department of Mathematics to a graduating senior who is completing a major in mathematics with distinction. The prize honors the memory of Edward S. Hammond, for many years Wing Professor of Mathematics, and was established by his former students at the time of his retirement.
Recipients »

The Smyth Prize
This prize, established by Henry Jewitt Further 1861 in honor of Professor William Smyth, is given to that student in each sophomore class who obtains the highest grades in mathematics courses during the first two years. The prize is awarded by the faculty of the Department of Mathematics, which will take into consideration both the number of mathematics courses taken and the level of difficulty of those courses in determining the recipient.
Recipients »