Date Posted:03/31/2008,  11:30AM

Maine Coaches Honor Four Polar Bears

BRUNSWICK, Maine - The Maine Men's Basketball Coaches and Writers Association has announced their post-season awards, and Bowdoin was recognized with four individual recipients. Senior Andrew Hippert (Worcester, Mass.) was named as a First-Team All-State honoree while Kyle Jackson (Acton, Mass.) and Jordan Fliegel (Cambridge, Mass.) earned Second-Team nods. Head Coach Tim Gilbride was voted as the Maine State Coach of the Year.

Hippert capped a sensational career with a solid senior campaign. The guard missed seven games due to injury, but led the Polar Bears at 15.9 points per game with 56 three-pointers. Hippert finished with 1,366 career points to rank seventh all-time at Bowdoin. His 199 career three-pointers stand third in school history and the senior captain's .861 career free-throw percentage is second only to the mark of .870 held by Bowdoin Athletic Hall of Honor member Bo McFarland '69.

Fliegel excelled in his senior campaign, posting career-highs in points (394, 13.6/game), rebounds (155, 5.3/game) and field-goal percentage (.558, sixth in NESCAC). A starter since his sophomore season, the tri-captain posted 961 career points and 463 career boards. In addition, Fliegel garnered Academic All-NESCAC honors.

Junior Kyle Jackson enjoyed another outstanding all-around campaign, finishing third on the team in points (12.4) and rebounds (4.7) while connecting on .505% of his shots from the field. He led the squad with 26 blocks and 42 steals while finishing as the second-most active player on the team in 2007-08, seeing 880 minutes of action (30.3/game).

Already named the NESCAC and NABC Northeast Coach of the Year, Gilbride earned another coaching award for his efforts. Gilbride led the Polar Bears to their best-ever season in 2007-08, accumulating a school-record 22 victories against seven losses and reaching the Second-Round of the NCAA Division III Tournament. Bowdoin made their first-ever appearance in the NESCAC Championship game and earned the program's first NCAA bid since 1998-99.