Date Posted:03/06/2008,  4:00PM

Westerman, Leary Honored by NESCAC

BRUNSWICK, Maine - Bowdoin College men's ice hockey players Mike Westerman (Ann Arbor, Mich.) and Ryan Leary (Marblehead, Mass.) have been honored in All-NESCAC selections released on Thursday. Westerman netted a Second-Team All-Conference nod while Leary earned NESCAC Rookie of the Year honors.

Westerman capped a fantastic career with a stellar senior campaign, leading the team in scoring as a defenseman with 14 goals and 17 assists. His six powerplay goals were tied for the team lead and he anchored a Bowdoin blue line that allowed 2.95 goals per game. An Academic All-NESCAC honoree during his career, Westerman finishes with 70 points in 81 career games and is the first defenseman to lead Bowdoin in scoring since All-American Jean Roy in 1983-84.

Ryan Leary was a clear choice for NESCAC Rookie of the Year after leading the league and finishing seventh in Division III with 22 goals. Averaging a goal per game, he became the first 20-goal scorer for the Polar Bears since Dave Cataruzolo in 1996-97. Posting an astounding six goals in a December 1 victory over Skidmore to set the school's single-game record, he was twice named the NESCAC's Player of the Week.

Bowdoin finished their 2007-08 campaign with a record of 17-7-0, finishing third in the final NESCAC standings.

Complete All-NESCAC team available at