Date Posted:02/25/2008,  3:00PM

Squash Players Earn NESCAC Honors


BRUNSWICK, Maine - Bowdoin College squash players Palmer Higgins (Morristown, N.J.) and Lauren Gesswein (Fairfield, Conn.) have been named to the inaugural New England Small College Athletic Conference Squash teams in selections announced last weekend. In addition, coach Tomas Fortson was recognized as the NESCAC's Women's Squash Coach of the Year.

Higgins, a sophomore, primarily played at the number one spot in the ladder for Bowdoin this season. He capped the year by playing in the number two slot at Nationals, where he claimed a point in the Polar Bears' 6-3 win over Brown that sealed 13th place in the nation.

Gesswein was Bowdoin's top women's player for the whole season, making a significant splash during her rookie campaign with 16 victories. The first-year capped the sensational campaign with a seven-match winning streak to close the season, including three wins at Nationals last weekend as the Polar Bears earned 13th place in the nation.

After leading the team to a 13th-place showing at Nationals and an overall mark of 13-10 this season, Bowdoin head coach Tomas Fortson was named the first-ever NESCAC Women's Squash Coach of the Year. In his eighth season at Bowdoin, Fortson has a career record of 107-74 as women's coach, one win shy of tying long-time coach Ed Reid for most career victories at the school (108).