Date Posted:01/09/2008,  11:00AM

Pearson Named NFHCA Division III Coach of the Year

BRUNSWICK, Maine - On the heels of the school's first-ever NCAA Team Championship, Bowdoin College field hockey head coach Nicky Pearson has been awarded the highest coaching honor in Division III Field Hockey, earning Division III Coach of the Year recognition at the National Field Hockey Coaches Association banquet on Friday, January 4.

The Polar Bears completed just the seventh perfect season in Division III field hockey history, culminating a 20-0 campaign with a 4-3 victory over Middlebury in the National Championship game on November 17, 2007.

Pearson has guided Bowdoin to an astonishing 55-3 mark over the past three seasons, including three straight NESCAC Championships and NCAA "Final Four" appearances. She has claimed the New England Small College Athletic Conference Coach of the Year award on six occasions and has posted a 164-37 (.816) record in her 11 years at Bowdoin with four Conference titles to her credit. In addition, the Polar Bears under Pearson have consistently placed as one of the top squads in the National Field Hockey Coaches Association Academic Team Award rankings.

The Hereford, England native is the eighth Bowdoin coach to earn a National Coach of the Year award, joining Sidney Watson (men's ice hockey, 1971, '78), Terry Meagher (men's ice hockey 1986, '89), John Cullen (women's soccer, 1992), Michele Amidon (women's ice hockey, 2003) and Stefanie Pemper (women's basketball, 2004). She is the first New England Coach to be named Division III Coach of the Year since 1998, when Middlebury's Missy Foote was honored.