Date Posted:05/15/2006,  10:00AM

Baseball Makes NCAA Tournament

BRUNSWICK, Maine - The NCAA Division III Baseball Committee has announced the teams that will compete in the NCAA Division III Baseball New England Regional Championship on Cape Cod. The seven-team double elimination tournament is hosted by the ECAC and will be played at Whitehouse field in Harwich, the home of the Cape Cod Baseball League's Harwich Mariners. The ECAC is partnering with the Cape Cod Chamber of Commerce Sports Committee and the Cape Cod Baseball League (CCBL) to host the event which begins on Wednesday, May 17 and will run through Saturday, May 20.

The Division III championship provides for a maximum field of 53 teams. Six teams will compete at three first-round sites; seven teams will compete at five first-round sites. All first rounds will use a double-elimination format. Thirty-two conference champions qualified automatically. Winners of the eight first-round tournaments will qualify for the double-elimination championship at Appleton, Wisconsin, May 26-30.

Earning the No. 1 seed is Wheaton College with a 34-8 overall record. St. Joseph's (Maine) with a record of 33-8-1 will be the No. 2 seed followed by No. 3 Middlebury (24-9), No. 4 Salem State (33-6), No. 5 Southern Maine (29-15), No. 6 Western New England (33-10) and No. 7 Bowdoin College (28-8-1).

The Polar Bears will be making their first-ever trip to the NCAA Tournament following an excellent season that saw the squad capture the NESCAC Eastern Division. Bowdoin has set a new record for victories in a season and boasts a 10-member senior class that is the winningest senior class in the history of Bowdoin baseball.

Assisting in the organization of the event are the Massachusetts Sports and Entertainment Commission, the Town of Harwich, the Harwich Recreation and Youth Commission, Harwich Mariners, Harwich High School, Massachusetts Maritime Academy and Cape Cod Regional and Technical High School.

Whitehouse Field is home to the local Cape League's Harwich Mariners. The park features the Fay Vincent Sr. baseball scoreboard and message center, the largest scoreboard in New England south of Fenway Park. The games are scheduled for 9:30, 1 p.m., 4:30 and 8 p.m. on Wednesday (May 17), 9:30 a.m., 1 p.m., 4:30 and 8 p.m. on Thursday (May 18), Noon, 3:30 p.m. and 7 p.m. on Friday (May 19), and Noon on Saturday (May 20). Teams are expected to arrive on Cape Cod on Tuesday, May 16 for practice.

Seeding of Teams:
1. Wheaton (Massachusetts) (34-8)
2. Saint Joseph's (Maine) (33-8-1)
3. Middlebury (24-9)
4. Salem State (33-6)
5. Southern Maine (29-15)
6. Western New England (33-10)
7. Bowdoin (28-8-1)

Wednesday, May 17 at Whitehouse Field
Game 1: No. 4 Salem State vs. No. 5 Southern Maine 9:30 a.m.
Game 2: No. 2 Saint Joseph's (Maine) vs. No. 7 Bowdoin 1 p.m.
Game 3: No. 3 Middlebury vs. No. 6 Western New England 4:30 p.m.
Game 4: No. 1 Wheaton vs. Winner of Game 1 8 p.m.

Thursday, May 18 at Whitehouse Field
Game 5: Loser of Game 2 vs. Loser of Game 3 9:30 a.m.
Game 6: Winner of Game 2 vs. Winner of Game 3 1 p.m.
Game 7: Loser of Game 4 vs. Winner of Game 5 4:30 p.m.
Game 8: Loser of Game 1 vs. Loser of Game 6 8 p.m.

Friday, May 19 at Whitehouse Field
Game 9: Winner of Game 4 vs. Winner of Game 6 Noon
Game 10: Winner of Game 7 vs. Winner of Game 8 3:30 p.m.
Game 11: Loser of Game 9 vs. Winner of Game 10 7 p.m.

Saturday, May 20 at Whitehouse Field
Game 12: Winner of Game 9 vs. Winner of Game 11 Noon
Game 13: Same Two Teams (if necessary)