Date Posted:05/14/2004,  11:30AM

Bowdoin Honors Athletes at All-Sports Banquet

BRUNSWICK, Maine - The Bowdoin College Athletic Department announced their End-of-Year Honors at the annual All-Sports Banquet on Thursday, May 13. Seniors Lora Trenkle (women's basketball) and James Wilkins (indoor/outdoor high jump) took home Female and Male Athlete of the Year honors.

Seniors Gillian McDonald (women's ice hockey, field hockey) and Chris Wagner (football, indoor/outdoor track) were also selected as inaugural winners of the Sidney J. Watson Award, given to a "senior athlete who has distinguised themselves by their athletic performance and leadership of more than one team at Bowdoin."


Polar Bear Awards: Mike Veilleux, Bowdoin Facilities; Dr. Walter Higgins

Outstanding First-Year Male Athlete: Kevin Bradley '07, Men's Basketball

Outstanding First-Year Female Athlete: Katie Chapman '07, Women's Swimming, Meghan Gillis '07, Women's Ice Hockey

Leadership Award for J.V. and Club Sports: Jenny Harvey '04

Academic Achievement Award for Men: Greg Bangser '04, Men's Track

Academic Achievement Award for Women: Shoshana Kuriloff '04, Women's Lacrosse

Society of Bowdoin Women Award: Courtney Trotta '04, Women's Basketball

Wil Smith Community Service Award For Men: Mark Drauschke '04, Football; Joe Andrasko '04, Men's Lacrosse

Community Service Award for Women: Lindsay Morris '04, Women's Rugby

Sidney J. Watson Award: Gillian McDonald '04, Women's Ice Hockey, Field Hockey; Chris Wagner '04, Football, Track

Frederick Thorne Award for Male Leadership: Brian Laurits '04, Track

Anne L. E. Dane Award for Female Leadership: Amanda Burrage '04, Field Hockey, Women's Lacrosse

Outstanding Male Athlete: James Wilkins '04, Track

Shulman Award for Outstanding Female Athlete: Lora Trenkle '04, Women's Basketball