Date Posted:05/14/2004,  11:00AM

Men's Basketball Awards End-of-Year Honors

BRUNSWICK, Maine - The Bowdoin College men's basketball team awarded their end-of-season honors at their season-ending banquet last week.

T.J. McLeod took home the Paul Nixon Trophy in recognition of a men's basketball player who "has made the most valuable contribution to his team through his qualities of leadership and sportsmanship." McLeod led the team in minutes (792) and was second in points per game (15.6) for the Polar Bears this year.

Fellow captain Jon Farmer was awarded the William J. Fraser Trophy given to the player "who best exemplifies the spirit of Bowdoin basketball." Farmer averaged 7.8 points and 5.8 rebounds per game this season.

In addition, All-Maine honors were announced and Kyle Petrie was selected as a First-Team All-Maine selection, while Kevin Bradley was tabbed as an All-Maine rookie team choice.

Finally, next year's captains were announced and seniors-to-be Sean Walker and Mark Yakavonis were chosen as Bowdoin's 2004-05 team captains.