Date Posted:05/15/2003,  8:00AM

Men's Lacrosse Post-Season Awards

BRUNSWICK, Maine - The Bowdoin College men's lacrosse team, which finished the season with a 7-9 mark and qualified for the NESCAC Playoffs, has selected three award recipients as well as captains for next season's squad. In addition, two Polar Bears- seniors Jordan Fay (Garden City, N.Y.) and Jamie Nichols (Skaneateles, N.Y.) earned All-New England Honors.

Fay was named a First-team NEILA Division III All-Star after leading the Polar Bear defense this season. The 6-3, 220-pound senior was a force in the backfield, often taking on the opponent's top offensive player during the course of the year. Fay was one of four Bowdoin captains this season and earned second-team All-NESCAC honors.

Earning Honorable Mention All-NEILA was Jamie Nichols, who was a third-team All-American last season. Nichols was also awarded the Paul Tiemer, Jr. Men's Lacrosse Trophy, awarded to the senior that "has brought the most credit to Bowdoin and himself." Nichols acted as one of Bowdoin's four captains this year.

The Paul Tiemer Men's Lacrosse Trophy given to the most improved player on the team was awarded to senior Kyle Courtiss (Duxbury, Mass.). After scoring 15 goals and six assists last season, Courtiss exploded offensively in 2003. The first-team All-NESCAC selection led the conference in goals and placing second in points per game. His 47 goals were the most by a Bowdoin player since Judd Newkirk scored 47 in 1997.

The Mortimer F. LaPointe Lacrosse Award, named after the legendary Bowdoin coach, was awarded to Alex Duncan (New York, N.Y.). The LaPointe Award is annually given to the player who "through his aggressive spirit, love of the game and positive attitude, has helped build a stronger team."

The captains of next year's squad were also announced. Juniors Ford Gurall (Concord, Mass.), Austin Branson (Bethesda, Md.), Graham Jones (Englewood, N.J.) and Joe Andrasko (Springfield, N.J.) were chosen to lead the 2004 Polar Bears.