Date Posted:05/07/2003,  8:00AM

Track Earns All-NESCAC Honors

BRUNSWICK, Maine - The Bowdoin men's and women's track teams, who placed fourth and seventh, respectively, at the NESCAC Championship have earned All-NESCAC honors, according to a release from the conference office today. Highlighting the honors were NESCAC Champions Pat Vardaro (5,000 meters) and the men's distance relay team of Dan Gulotta, Byron Boots, Steve Franklin and Jeff Rubens. Julia Febiger led the Bowdoin women by being selected All-NESCAC in three events. The top three finishers in each event at the Conference Championship earn All-NESCAC honors.

Bowdoin had a dozen men selected. They were; Greg Bangser (4x400 Meter Relay), Byron Boots (Distance Medley), Andrew Combs (4x400 Meter Relay), Greydon Foil (4x400 Meter Relay), Steve Franklin (Distance Medley), Dan Ginn (Javelin Throw, Triple Jump), Dan Gulotta (Distance Medley), Jeff Ruebens (Distance Medley), Jon Todd (Pole Vault), Pat Vardaro (5000 Meter Run), Chris Wagner (Discus Throw), Phil Webster (4x400 Meter Relay).

On the women's side; Sarah Bodnar (4x100 Meter Relay), Julia Febiger (400 Meter Hurdles, 4x100 Meter Relay, 4x400 Meter Relay), Emily Hackert (4x100 Meter Relay, 4x400 Meter Relay), Kathrin Martens (4x100 Meter Relay, 4x400 Meter Relay), Kate Walker (4x400 Meter Relay).

Bowdoin will compete at the Open New England Championships this weekend at UNH.