Date Posted:04/09/2003,  8:00AM

Amidon Named National Coach of the Year

GLOUCESTER, Mass. (AHCA Release) - Michele Amidon led Bowdoin College to 23-2-3 record this year and a third place finish at the NCAA Division III Women?s Ice Hockey Championships. For these accomplishments, she is the AHCA Women?s Division III Coach of the Year. Amidon received the award at the annual AHCA Coach of the Year Banquet on April 26, held in conjunction with the AHCA Convention in Naples, FL.

The Polar Bears roared through the regular season schedule of the New England Small College Athletic Conference (NESCAC) with an undefeated record before going on to the NCAA?s at Elmira College. Bowdoin was eliminated in the semifinals by Manhattanville, 4-1, but came back to win the Third Place Game, 4-2, against Wisconsin-River Falls.

A 1994 graduate of St. Lawrence University, Amidon was a three-time MVP of the SLU squad and an All ECAC performer. She came to Bowdoin in 1997 and has compiled a record of 103-38-10 in six seasons. She became just the third women?s Division III coach to reach the 100-win mark when she did so on February 22, with a 3-2 victory over Williams.

The runner-up for this year?s AHCA Women?s Division III Coach of the Year award was Jamie Wood of Elmira College, winner of the award in 2002.

College hockey?s Coach of the Year recipients are chosen by members of the American Hockey Coaches Association (AHCA).

Finalists for the AHCA Women?s College Division Coach of the Year Award were Michele Amidon, Bowdoin College; Bill Cahill, Rensselaer; Joe Cranston, Wisconsin-River Falls; Nicole Kirnan, Manhattanville; Tom Osiecki, St. Olaf; Jamie Wood, Elmira College.