Date Posted:11/13/2002,  8:00AM

Field Hockey Earns All-NESCAC Selections

BRUNSWICK, Maine - Although the Bowdoin College field hockey team was disappointed with their runner-up finish in this past weekend's NESCAC Tournament, the Polar Bears garnered recognition on Wednesday for their stellar season, as five players earned All-Conference honors- the most of any NESCAC team. In addition, head coach Nicky Pearson earned NESCAC Coach of the Year honors for the team's 12-4 mark and first-place finish this season. Overall, Pearson is a stellar 86-25 since coming to Bowdoin.

Senior Leah McClure (Rothesay, N.B.) earned first-team honors after leading the conference in scoring with 12 goals this year. McClure leaves Bowdoin as the sixth-leading scorer in school history with 69 career goals and 29 career goals.

Sophomore midfielder Amanda Burrage (Brookline, Mass.) took first-team honors after dealing out 10 assists on the season, one shy of the school mark for single-season assists.

Defensively, senior co-captain Sarah Laverty (Concord, Mass.) and junior goalkeeper Gillian McDonald (Hudson, Que.) were both honored as first-team selections thanks to the Polar Bears' stellar mark of allowing a mere 14 goals in 16 games this season. Laverty closes out her career by playing in 58 of a possible 61 career games. A captain this fall, she was a part of two NCAA Tournament teams in 1999 and 2000.

After only three years on campus, McDonald owns numerous goaltending marks at the school, including most career wins (35), most career shutouts (24), and best career goals-against-average (0.62). She has been a first-team All-Conference selection all three years and this season had an .870 save percentage and 10 shutouts.

Sophomore Marissa O'Neil (Manchester, N.H.) was a second-team selection. One of the top emerging players in the conference, O'Neil collected 11 goals and three assists on the season. Williams College's Molly Jennings and Emily Grannon earned NESCAC Player and Rookie of the Year, respectively.