Date Posted:05/22/2002,  8:00AM

All-Academic Team Announced

BRUNSWICK, Maine - The New England Small College Athletic Conference (NESCAC) announced its All-Academic selections today, and Bowdoin College was represented with ten honorees. Eight seniors made the team, while two sophomores were also picked.

The track and field squad led the way with four honorees as senior athletes Tony Small (Westborough, Mass.), Nick Lyford (Addison, Maine), and Delia van Loenen (Falmouth, Maine) were named to the team. Sophomore James Wilkins (Medina, Ohio) also made the squad as an underclassman. Wilkins was an All-American in the high jump this winter, while Lyford holds the school record in the javelin.

Two members of Bowdoin's softball team captured All-Academic honors as senior centerfielder Jordan Alper (Cos Cob, Conn.) and classmate, second baseman Michelle Jackson (Marblehead, Mass.) both were named to the team. Alper battted .277 with 10 RBI's in 35 games for the Polar Bears, while Jackson played in every game for a team that posted a school-record 25 wins.

Baseball seniors Chris Davidson (Plymouth, Mass.) and Rob Metzler (West Hartford, Conn.) were both named to the teams. Both outfielders were stellar at the plate this season, as Davidson hit .391 in 16 games, while Metzler was .360 on the year. The two players coincidentally share the school's single-season stolen base mark of 21, set by Davidson in 2000 and tied by Metzler in 2001. The team finished 16-18, one win shy of the school mark for wins.

Women's lacrosse players, senior Beth Sherman (South Windsor, Conn.) and sophomore Shoshana Kuriloff (Philadelphia, Pa.) were both named to the team. Sherman scored 11 goals and assisted on five others, while Kuriloff was fourth on the team with 26 points on 19 goals and seven assists. The Polar Bears ended their season with a record of 10-5.

Each student-athlete honored is a starter or key reserve on an officially sponsored varsity sport with a grade point average of at least 3.35. To be honored, a student-athlete must have reached sophomore academic standing at his/her institution. Transfers must have completed one year of study at his/her institution.