Date Posted:05/07/2002,  8:00AM

Lacrosse Earns NESCAC Honors

BRUNSWICK, Maine - The New England Small College Athletic Conference (NESCAC) released their all- conference selections today for men's and women's lacrosse, and Bowdoin College received numerous selections. The Polar Bear men placed three players on the first team, and two on the second team, while the women received two second-team All-NESCAC selections.

Senior Josh Allen (Saugus, Mass.) earned first team honors after leading the Polar Bears in goals this season, with 34 tallies. Junior long-stick midfielder Jamie Nichols (Skaneateles, N.Y.) received first-team honors for the second consecutive year. He and junior defender Jordan Fay (Garden City, N.Y.), who was also named to the first team, were defensive leaders for the Polar Bears, who posted an 11-4 record and advanced to the semifinals of the NESCAC tournament. Defender Brian Matthews (Dallas, Texas) and goaltender P.J. Prest (Potomac, Md.) earned second-team nods.

On the women's side, the Polar Bears placed two members on the second team. Senior Kristi Perine (Middlebury, Vt.) led the team in scoring this season, posting 24 goals and 18 assists to pace the Polar Bears. Senior defender Whitney Church joined Perine on the second team. Church led the Bowdoin defense this season, playing in all 15 games for the team. The Polar Bear women's lacrosse team ended the season with a mark of 10-5.