Date Posted:04/23/2002,  8:00AM

WBCA Announces All-American Selections

BRUNSWICK, Maine - The Women's Basketball Coaches Association (WBCA) and The Eastman Kodak Company have announced the finalists and selections for the 2002 DIII Kodak Women's All-America Basketball Team. WBCA member coaches in each of the eight WBCA geographical districts vote for the team and Player of the Year. Bowdoin College was honored with two regional selections as junior Kristi Royer (Lewiston, Maine) and sophomore Lora Trenkle (Surry, Maine) were both honored as District I choices.

Trenkle led the team in scoring this season, averaging 15.4 points per game and earning NESCAC player of the Year honors. Royer was second on the squad in scoring at 14.0 points per contest, and led the team in rebounding at 6.8 boards per game. She was also a first-team All-NESCAC selection. The Polar Bears reached the Elite Eight of the NCAA Tournament after winning their second straight NESCAC title in 2001- 02. Bowdoin ended their season with a record of 26-2, the best ever in the history of the program.

The Kodak All-American first-team is listed below: Kendra Anderson, Hardin-Simmons University; Candice Brown, Marymount University; Amy Campion, Salisbury University; Allison Coleman, Eastern Connecticut St. Univ.; Jill Dewane, Lakeland College; Meredith Eisenhut, St Lawrence University; Heather Kile, Swarthmore College; Katy Sturtz, Ohio Wesleyan University; Missy Pederson, St. Thomas; Rachel Poland, Heidelberg College.

Division III Kodak Player of the Year: Meredith Eisenhut, St Lawrence University